Posted by: granny1947 | February 15, 2012

Granny has a little smile

Hello All.

I cannot tell a lie.
Well, I can.
But not to you lot.
Today’s photos have been picked at random.
They are not “fresh”
They might be repeats.

So…yesterday the driver from the garage comes to fetch me.
I had been worrying about the huge jump in the quote just for brakes and globes.
So, I spent the trip practicing my Granny look.
And rehearsing (in my mind) just how I was going to make him break down the whole account.

We got to the dealership and the nice young man came bounding over.
Yes, he is nice again.
Apologised.
Said he had made a mistake with the quote.
Knocked it down by R500.
All that practicing was an exercise in futility.
And, I think, it freaked the poor driver out.

I have been surrounded by my own personal cloud of fruit flies today.
Couldn’t understand why.
A lot of cursing and waving of arms.
Then I found the overripe pear in my shopping bag.
Mystery solved.

Talking about fruit.
My apple farmer friend brought me in a whole bag of apples this morning.
There is nothing like an apple straight from the tree.
They are juicy, crisp and sweet.
And they will last for ages.
If the adage is right…sexy Doc will not be seeing me soon.

Mex gets back tomorrow.
I think he can’t wait.
He even sent me a Valentine sms.
Everyone go awwwwwwwww.
Tom will not be happy.
Tonight will be his last night with me.

Granddaughter went back home today.
Which means I will be cooking tonight.
Damn.

Responses

  1. Glad to see the smile Granny. So glad to hear the car is fixed and that you saved a lot of money. Must have been the previous “Granny look”..hehehe
    Have a great day hon and big hugs to you and Jasmine. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Sonel…the car wasn’t actually broken but is going very well now.

  2. Congratulations with saving money on the car. Great pictures. I think in particular the first one, has captured very well a lovely scenery.

    • Thanks so much Munchow….I respect your compliment.

  3. AAAAwww — hope you had a nice day. I agree — there is nothing in the world quite as good as an apple right off a tree. One of the things I miss about Ontario, where most of my family lives. Lovely pics.

    • Thanks Kathy….those apples are something else.

  4. 500 bucks is 500 bucks! Good for you πŸ™‚ (A little extra Valentine’s πŸ˜‰ )

    Ooooh, those flies!! Gave myself a blue eye the other night waving them off furiously, patience hanging by a threat. Only realized it two days later – still there πŸ˜€

    • Uhm Yada…what was still there?
      the flies or the blue eye?

      • Both! πŸ˜€

      • Yep Yada….Now it is only eight o’clock and I am going to bed.
        See you at three in the morning.

  5. Every little bit of money helps!
    At the moment I have nothing but unexpected bills.
    I think I must develop a Twolips “look” , especially for my dentist.

    • Have you tried crying to your dentist Twolips?
      Sometimes a tear or two work wonders!

  6. Those apples sound better than the over-ripe pear. πŸ˜‰

    • the pear was definitely past it’s eat by date, NR.

  7. Great about the R500, granny. I think that nice young man had a twinge of conscience overnight. πŸ˜‰ Enjoy the cooking, and having your Valentine back home. πŸ˜‰ Hugs xx

    • Yes AD…it will be good to have him back…for a couple of days anyway!

  8. I am sure you will find another opportunity to use “the look”.
    Glad that your car repairs cost less than expected
    Enjoy all those apples

    • Hi Optie…I AM enjoying the apples…they are great.

  9. was that a ploy. over quote and then when you reduce the price people are so grateful they forget to ask for the cost breakdown

    • Probably Sidey…Granny makes a note to peruse the invoice.

  10. Living apple-ly ever after?

    Mex going soft, or something?

    Shedding g’dtr will be such sweet sorrow.

    Poor Tom.

    Hey, drattit, you’ve got me into this one-line thing!

  11. Glad the car is sorted:)
    *hugs*

  12. Awwww! So nice of Mex to remember! I’m glad your quote came down, sounds like a decent reduction. I agree, there’s nothing like fresh produce – I used to belong to an organic farm co-op, where we’d pick our own veggies every week, right out of the ground. Wow, what a difference in flavor!!! πŸ™‚

  13. Granny, your photos can be weeks late and I’ll still appreciate them.

    Please check out my post for today (15th). There’s a gift waiting for you. Because I love you. So there!

  14. Apples, Pears … fruitflies … I wish … greetings from winterland Canada. Love your pics always, Granny47 … old or new … no matter … love them …. Always, cat.

  15. who is Mex?

  16. Glad you got a break on the bill for the car Granny.

    Your fruit flies encounter~cracks me up!

    Your beach photos~lovely.

  17. Awww! That is sweet:-) But about them apples and the sexy doc..is that what they call a conundrum?

  18. Maybe you should rethink the apples πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

