Posted by: granny1947 | February 11, 2012

Granny’s soothing Saturday

Hello All.

There is something so soothing about the noise of a vacuum cleaner.
Going about it’s business.
Picking up dog hair and cat hair.
And dead beetles.
And dead flies.
Yes, it is a wonderful sound.
When I am not pushing the thing.

I decided to get in my little Malawian guy.
We will call him Jonas.
Because that is his name.
He is a short dude.
Very polite and sweet.
And he works like a Trojan.
Even Jasmine likes him.

He has just told me his uncle died in Malawi.
The funeral was yesterday.
He says he now has no mother or father.
No uncles and aunts.
So I said “but you have a wife”.
You will have to start a new family.
He thought it was hilarious.

I have to compliment WordPress.
I just love the new notification feature.
I think it is new.
Maybe I have just not noticed it?
I love that you can reply to a comment on someone’s post.
Without the hassle of going over to them every time.
Best thing since sliced bread.

Is it possible to cough up a lung?
If one did, how do you put it back?

We are having the strangest weather.
There is blue sky on both sides of my house.
But it has been raining.
I think I have my own personal rain cloud just above my house.
It is also quite chilly.
But I am NOT complaining.

I have had the display cabinet above for about thirty years.
If not longer.
I have lost count of how many times I have packed all those things.
And unpacked them again.
I am now contemplating selling it.
Distributing all the stuff inside to my offspring.
To clutter up THEIR homes.
Some of the stuff has sentimental value.
But there is a hell of a lot that is a bit of a mystery.
Don’t remember who gave it to me.
Or why I kept it.
What do you think?

Don’t ask about the dish full of dead batteries.
Mex seems to have developed a bit of a fetish.
Let’s not go into it.

Oh yes…..
After blogging about sleeveless tops I received a spam mail.
Offering me a dress with ruffles and satin trim.
I am trying to imagine myself in a dress with RUFFLES.
Not a chance.

Responses

  1. We have an almost identical display cabinet filled with things my wife is sentimental about. We’ve also had it for about 30 years. I have carried the damn thing up and down stairs on every move we have made. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Sarchasm….it is madness…don’t think I can face it again.

  2. I too have a cabinet like that, full of bells, ornaments and little things of sentimental value. I also have the ashes of my dog Tramp who was so wonderful that I can never throw him away.

    Could I ever part with it…No..not until I am dead!

    Keep it I say ..you may regret it later if you give it away…Mex’s dead batteries are the exception

    • Hmmmm Patrecia….am not really the sentimental type…I must give this some serious thought.

  3. Never had, nor wanted, a display cabinet. Used my mantelpiece, and sideboard when I had them. Now going to resort to my window sill! For years I had a large ashtray filled with batteries of every size and description for ‘in case’…

    I see you have a reprieve from the heat wave at last. Enjoy! The weather here in Joeys is also weird. Warm, mostly, but a breeze with a really cold core. We have had drizzle on and off for the past two days and at dawn this morning again.

  4. Hi Adee….the sun is shining here again…but you never know in Cape Town.
    My feet are cold!!
    The first time in ages.

    • The reason is apprehension regarding your move! πŸ™‚

      • My next scrabble move?

      • Getting there …

      • Your turn

  5. I’m really going to miss your mountain scenery …

    Don’t get rid of all those memories too easily even if you can’t remember what memories they are. Anyway, there might be something in there worth a billion dollars to a collector.

    • Hi Col…actually there is one piece that fascinates me.
      Think I might just post a pic of it tomorrow.

      • Waiting with interest!

      • Oh you mean the thingy from my cabinet…sorry am slow today.

  6. I’m also busy down-sizing. Haven’t started on the small stuff yet.
    There’s stuff I’ll just leave with the hospice shop or SPCA.

    • Same here Twolips…TEARS will be getting a few boxes from me soon.

  7. Good to hear you are still alive, albeit minus a lung, where are you moving to?

    • Hi Michelle…how are you love.
      How are Ralph and Tanja doing?
      I am moving up to PE.

  8. By the way its Michelle Brouwer

  9. i got stuck for a while imagining yiou in satin ruffles.

    my mind is now well boggled

    • Give up Sidey…you will never get that image.

  10. I gave my daughter my good china and crystal for Christmas this year. When am I going to use it? So I passed it on to the next generation. I know what you mean about clearing out the stuff and giving it to the next generation. That’s what I did. Except I’m still looking for the cup. I found the saucers but don’t have the cups. They are still packed away.

    • I reckon I am going to do the same Maire.

  11. We’ve done lots of de-cluttering over the years . . . I don’t miss a thing that we gave away.

    Sell the cabinet. Distribute the trinkets. Less is more. πŸ˜€

  12. Love your photo’s as usual Granny! So beautiful!
    Hope you’re feeling much better today. Just don’t take that lung for a walk. πŸ™‚
    Love the display cabinet. Makes me think of my Granny.
    Oh, how I would love to see you in a dress with ruffles. I think it would look grand on you. hehehe
    Have a great weekend!
    *hugs*

  13. I friends come by and in particular likes a particular item … why don’t you part with it then … It’s a good feeling when one is able to give an article to a nother person who really appreciates it. Just as I always appreciate coming to your blog, Granny … Love, always, cat.

  14. Lovely photos again, granny. That display cabinet is a treasure I’d find hard to part with, but I’m sure you’ll have no problem in selling it. I used to have an aunt who gave hubby and I something out of her china cabinet every time we visited. πŸ˜‰ Hope you’re feeling better soon. Hugs xx

  15. You always give me a chuckle! Ruffles–I know what you mean. I’m WAY past those.

    My husband and I always think about giving away things. We store things in boxes labeled with the possible recipient. Then we end up with more stuff.

  16. Granny accept the dress with ruffles as graciously as you can and then post a photo. You could set up a whole trend of older women in ruffles.

  17. Lovely photos as usual. Slightly different views but the same beach?

  18. Well… if you can’t even remember what it’s about, what’s the point? (I wonder, anyway.) Perhaps “30 years” is the only reason you have it… Cooler weather – YAYYY! I don’t mind vacuuming – I do, however, mind those ancient models that don’t have the pipe – where you have to push the whole machine and it is not flexible to fit into small spaces or easy to maneuver. Give me those ones on wheels that you pull after you any day – now you see the bugs, crumbs, hair, etc… now you don’t! Love it! πŸ˜‰ (Don’t like dusting so much though… 😦

  19. I find it very hard to part with things. We’ve all told each not to buy of any more things that collect dust for Christmas.

    I’ll take that white house in the picture. It is so beautiful there.

  20. I used to have a similar display cabinet but got rid of it w while ago whilst uncluttering πŸ™‚
    *hugs*

  21. I have never had a display cabinet and never wanted one. I hate clutter and even the few ornaments we have are subject to review from time to time. OH on the other had is a hoarder and gets very defensive when I point out his clutter. LOL at the bowl of batteries – sounds like OH πŸ™‚

  22. Pack it up NOW, before you move. If you haven’t missed anything before the move, get rid.

  23. I wish I had soothing Saturdays….
    P.S. my wife wants that cabinet!

    • If we lived closer you could have it!!!

  24. Aaaaccchhhh. to the ruffles. Why would you want to wear ruffles? They’re a real pain to iron and you have to iron them. Who irons anymore? I love reading your blog and the comments. I need to start a blog but what would I say? It’s so beautiful where you live now. Can you swim off your beach?
    I could say get rid of the cabinet. We moved into a 1235 sq. ft. single wide that is 16×80 and have no dining area. Got rid of the table/chairs and buffet/hutch. All I did was dust all the “stuff” on the blasted thing. It’s very dusty where we live. So I got disgusted and put them in an re-sell place. The “stuff”‘ is still out in the shed. Can’t find it anymore. Have loads of vintage tablecloths I was going to make pillow covers out of.
    Til next time. A granny too. 71 with 6 gk’s.

    • Someone else who doesn’t iron.
      I love you already.

  25. I’m not a sentimental soul and can part with things easily. Now on the other hand hubby won’t part with a thing. He even bought some red wine glasses because they reminded him of his father, but we are not allowed to use them and they sit at the back of a cupboard on a top shelf where nobody can see them. Ive been tempted to break one and see his reaction! Is that wicked or what?

    • That is SO evil Ruth…I love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

