Posted by: granny1947 | February 10, 2012

Granny does NOT give up

Hello All.

Again.
And again.
And again.
I see a lot of you had great fun at my expense.
I will be replying soon.
Just let me put on my witch hat.

I got a reply from WordPress about my MIA posts.
I think they bombed because I did a cut and paste.
I didn’t know that was a problem.
They said there would be saved copies but I couldn’t find them.
This is not surprising.
I often can’t find things.

I saw sexy Doc again today.
He is hopeful I am going to make it.
Said I only have four wind instruments playing in my lungs.
Not the whole orchestra.
Said he was seriously thinking of putting me in hospital on Tuesday.
He knows me.
He would have had to take me yelling and screaming.

It has been a strange week.
Yesterday I was convinced it was Friday.
So I have gained a whole day.
Yippee.

While lounging around I got to thinking.
Something I try not to do.
Not on a regular basis anyway.
About old age.

I know there are a lot of my blogging buddies who are my age.
Or even older.
If some of you have not had the same experience as me….I don’t want to know about.
For those of you still heading towards my age this is a warning of what to expect.

I handled the change in my body.
Sort of.
When body parts suddenly swap places.
And, almost overnight, you become Granny shaped.

Men sometimes experience hair loss.
Women get MORE hair.
Unwanted hair.
I have blogged about the solitary chin hair.
No biggie.
It can be plucked.
The sudden appearance of bum fluff on the cheeks.
The FACIAL cheeks.
I solved that problem by never wearing my glasses when looking at my face.
All good.
BUT….one thing took me completely unawares.

I was sitting when I happened to move my arm at a certain angle.
And there it was.
OLD SKIN.
Wrinkly old skin.
I went eeeeeeeeeeek.
Ok…I didn’t.
I yelled “what the fuck is that”?
And “where did it come from”?

I promptly got rid of all sleeveless tops.
All short sleeve tops.
I now scour the shops for three quarter length tops.
Or I wear long sleeve tops and casually pull the sleeves up a bit.
I don’t think it fools anyone.

God is definitely a man.
A woman would never have allowed that to happen.

Responses

  1. Love the honesty πŸ˜€

    • One of the few upsides of getting older…you really don’t give a damn!

  2. You never mince your words, do you. πŸ˜‰ Aging is definitely not for sissies, granny. Mourning the loss of our youth could become a daily ritual if we allowed it to take over. ;( Hugs xx

    • Oh I never mourn my youth AD…Have had such a full life but don’t want to do it again.

  3. i can only agree, no woman would let that happen

    • Yes Sidey…a woman would have had a better design.

  4. Had a good laught there. I’m busy developing wings!
    Doesn’t matter. When I reach the time that I can’t drive anymore, I’ll just fly.
    I still wear sleeveless tops. What else can a girl do in this hot and humid weather? Bugger what everyone thinks πŸ˜‰

    Listen to your sexy doctor!

    • Oh Twolips…I forgot the wings….mind you…I keep mine hidden!

  5. I AM your age and I know exactly what you are talking about. I’ve abandoned sleeveless tops, capped sleeve blouses, shorts, cropped pants–it goes on and on. I’m going to be face WAXED today. Don’t even talk about the internal stuff… It’s not easy to keep up appearances, is it?

    • Oh my word Marjulo…I also forgot about the liver spots…or giant freckles!

  6. I’m not quite where you are yet, Granny, but the changes I’m seeing make me consider becoming a hermit. Aging is definitely NOT for wimps, yet it seems better than the alternative. So far, anyway. πŸ˜‰

    • Oh RD…it is not as bad as all that….we just have to make up for looks with personality!
      And wisdom.
      And a sense of humour.

  7. Big grin of recognition.

  8. Ahhhhhhhh Pseu…you know then!

  9. Ha you made me laugh out loud. I sit here now looking at old woman hands. I’m only 52! These hands look awful, but ok I have hands. But really all the plucking and coloring and pushing and pulling and hiking up etc. it’s quite a workout. Takes so long to get ready to go out it’s almost not worth it!

    • Hello Linda…glad I made you laugh…laughing is good….won’t help old hands though. πŸ™‚

  10. I thought the wrinkley skin was because I had lost weight. Then I put it back and the skin remains. Good grief don’t tell me it’s here for ever! Then I’d better lose the weight again – if I can! You can’t win, can you.

    • Hi Adee….I have a horrible feeling it is there to stay.
      Oh I forgot to mention the thinning skin.

  11. Whahahahaha Granny! Oh, you are hilarious! Maybe when you did a cut and paste some script slipped in that shouldn’t have been there or maybe WordPress laughed so much at your post that they accidently pressed the wrong button or something. LOL!

    Have a great weekend sweetie.
    Lots of hugs and kisses to you and Jasmine.
    xxx

    • No Sonel…i don’t think WP LIKED the post so they tossed it!

  12. Yay! Take a medal for persistence!

    Now, on that skin issue. The more elderly (and you, of course, are still a summer chicken – just past spring – compared with me) are meant to get plump. That way, you fit your skin. It is allowing for the expansion, you see.

    • Thank you Col…that explanation just made my day!

    • Perfectly put, Col!

  13. I’ll say it again, you’re one though Granny!

    • Would that mean tough,leathery skin Hook?

      • No! I mean your interior…

      • Hehehe.

  14. heheh, thanks for the chuckle granny, and I commiserate with you; old skin and liver spots are not very attractive . . . old age is not for the young! πŸ˜‰

    • Let’s not even mention the liver spots Barb!

  15. The first time I noticed it – I felt the same way, Granny. I was in my Doc’s office and said, “What’s this chicken skin by my armpit?!”

    She grinned, not realizing that I was serious!

    It was bad news and I still dislike it immensely.

    • Oh me too Souldipper…it is so darn ugly!!!

  16. I have been a member of the three-quarter length sleeves for a while now – I tell myself it is because they look more elegant and chic…. πŸ™‚
    I don’t know when I last wore a sleeveless top!

    • We think alike Elaine…I haven’t quite convinced myself,though.

  17. LOL. I know JUST what you mean. No wonder you’re always so bloody hot . . . you’re dressed in LONG sleeves.

    Let it ALL hang out, Granny! It’s cooler!

    • Hehehe NR…THIN long sleeves!
      Let it all hang out?
      Oy vey.

  18. A friend (even older than me) once said – Getting old ain’t for the fainthearted. And she was so right.

    • Hi Judith…it is bad enough that we get older but do we have to LOOK so different?

  19. Glad this one wasn’t a disappearing post! I love how you got just as many comments when you didn’t even write anything πŸ™‚ Also think WTF eventually becomes every “old” lady’s favourite expression when looking in the mirror. I know its mine.

    • Ahhhh…another “old” lady who can say it like it is. πŸ™‚

  20. OK so now you’re part of the wrinkly clan. They just get more or deeper but aren’t life threatening πŸ™‚

  21. LOL I have them all, chin whiskers, wrinkles, large freckles and liver spots, wings. I still wear sleeveless tops occasionally and find I care less and less what other people might think every day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

