Posted by: granny1947 | February 3, 2012

Granny throws a Thursday Tantrum

Hello All.

Yes, I am still alive.
I took myself off to see sexy Doc.
Who is still sexy by the way.
He said my lungs sound sad.
And gave me a script for antibiotics.
I said that maybe it was time to stop smoking again.
He said he wasn’t going to lecture me.
I am a grown woman.
Damn the man is clever.

Just before going to see him I received an sms to say my petrol card had arrived.
And was waiting for me at the branch in the shopping mall near home.
I decided to pick it up at the same time I was going to fetch my meds.
I didn’t realise the bank closed at 3:30.
After I got in they locked the doors.
So customers had to buzzed out by the staff.
Who were surly.
And very unpleasant.
One poor customer stood for ages waiting to be left out.
A gentleman in the queue mentioned to a staff member that there was a customer waiting.
Only to be told there was only one of her.
Actually,there was enough of her to make two.

I,eventually, got served and was given my card in a sealed envelope.
When I got home I opened the envelope to add the card to my banking profile.
Only to discover that it is a chipped card.
And needs a pin number.
And I have to go back to the bank to put the pin in.
It isn’t going to happen.
I got onto their website.
Sent them a message.
Told them they can keep their card.
Or words to that effect.
First National Bank Longbeach…..you suck.

I should have quite a lot to tell you tomorrow.
A friend and her daughter are flying in from Port Elizabeth.
I am fetching them and taking them to a lecture.
I think it is about spiritual healing.
Am not sure.
A crowd from Germany.
I think.
They must be something special.
It doesn’t cost peanuts to fly down here for an hour and a half talk.
Which I will be going to too.
Because…well…I will be there.
Then my friends will be spending the night.
And I take them back to the airport tomorrow.
Hmmmm…what the devil am I going to make for supper tonight?
We will probably only get home after eight.
I can’t even ask granddaughter to make supper.
She is going to friends for the weekend.
Stress level just climbed a notch.

Oh yes…I have reached a milestone.
Post number five hundred.
It has been such fun.
Do I get a prize WordPress?
Just a little one.

There is no wind!
I might just take Jasmine to the beach.
When the sun comes up.
Which will be another hour or so.
Yes, for some reason I woke up at four this morning.
I am booked off work and I wake at four.
Go figure.

Have just taken my tablets.
Am sure the chemist has made a mistake.
The things are HUGE.
Think they must be for a cow.
Oh…ok….that’s alright then.

Responses

  1. Post # 500! Wow, congrats, Granny 47 … have you ever thought of writing a book? You should … You have what it takes, sister πŸ™‚ I’m off to work … talk to you again. Be well, eh? … and listen to Dr. Gorgeous πŸ™‚ Love, cat.

    • Write a book Cat?
      In one liners?
      I don’t think so. πŸ™‚

  2. ah well, just think of the money you will save by not smoking?
    get better soon, that’s an order

  3. wow! post 500 already granny!
    Hope those meds help and you feel a bit better.
    *hugs*

    • Hi Happyhugger…yes the time has really flown by.
      You will find WP a bit slow in the beginning but then it just snowballs…I love it here.

  4. I have just reached 10 posts on WP πŸ˜‰
    Banks are the pits. The more electronic we go, the longer the queues in the banks.

    Ha! Stop smoking? No doctor dares to tell me that, as most of the ones I had were smokers themselves.

    Have a good day, granny and enjoy the visit, brief though it may be.

    • Hi Twolips…I had a doctor who smoked once.
      After examining me we would both light up.
      Then he had a massive heart attack.
      After that if I hurt my toe he would tell me to stop!

  5. You’d better keep the card, granny; you’ve already been billed for it by now πŸ˜‰

    • then they will just have to unbill me Yada!

  6. Sorry to hear you are chest not feeling right!

    Takeaways, like Pizza with the extra zed and not leaning?

    Tell us more about that fly-from-PE-worthy lektsha!

    • It is coming Col…when I can get up the energy.

  7. those bank staff need a lecture! Have a great weekend πŸ™‚

    • And I intend to see they get it Tandy.

  8. 500 posts deserves a Whoop Whoop!

    • And nog a whoop Sarchasm.

  9. Shall I whip you something up for dinner tonight? I’ll email it so it’s nice & fresh! πŸ™‚

    • Onr day that might just be possible Sous….and then I shall remember your offer. πŸ™‚

  10. Wow 500 posts – what an accomplishment – congrats!

    Do hope you feel better soon.

    • Hi Optie…and they just flew by….such fun.

  11. Congrats on 500 posts!!
    Get better soon – stay in bed!!!!
    xx

    • It is too hot to be in bed MissChris…am cooking here.

  12. 500 posts! Amazing! I think I’m on 33. Way to go, Granny!

    • I, obviously, talk to much Marjulo!!!

  13. Congrats on reaching the 500-mark! And that card business is really annoying – I would have dealt with it the same way.

    • Hi Jo…know who you are yet?

  14. Congrats on your 500th post! I’m about half way to you – #267, I think. Well I think you had every reason to treat yourself to a Thursday tantrum – I hope it diffused a little of the stress. Why not either order in tonight or take your friends out?

    Have a great weekend!

    • Hi RD…I did…got in a pizza….went down well.

  15. 500 blogs, that’s amazing! well done to you. Now how about you go and take one of those enormous pills with a nice glass of wine.

    • Hi Ruth….I did….they didn’t do my tummy much good!

  16. Congrats on the milestone, granny. Your doctor obviously knows a lecture would do no good. Hope you feel better soon. Happy weekend to you. xxx

    • Thanks AD….you seem to be having a wonderful time in America…lucky fish!

  17. With all that going on, you deserve to have a tantrum. Go ahead.

    • I have had the tantrum and it didn’t work Maire!!!!

  18. this is Joanne, the artist formerly known as Joberry2 – who deleted her entire WordPress blog this afternoon, but has not committed suicide because she saved all her posts on disk – *gasp*, breathes in after that very long sentence….

    I will also appear as youth issues editor – I’m not developing a spilt personality, but the youth issues one is a work project. ‘kay – have a naais weekend..

    • Uhmmmm Joanne….you sound a little confused. πŸ™‚

  19. Enjoy the lecture, Granny. And congrats on #500!

    • Thanks NR…you must have 5000!!!

  20. Banks – what can you say… Don’t like them, but can’t get rid of them either. Congratulations with the 500th post. That is quite an achievement. May you soon feel better.

    • I wish we could get rid of them Munchow…they all rip one off.

  21. Congrats on 500 posts, Gran. Hope you let us know about the lecture and I hope you enjoy it.

    • Thanks Adee…will tell you all about it later…right now it is too darn hot!

  22. … hmmm a sexy doc who does not argue … I think I need one too πŸ˜‰

    • He is mine Gobetween…all mine!

  23. Greetings from Oakville, Canada (suburb of Toronto) I found your BLOG today and you made me laugh LOL…and I am interested!! I love your photos too. My dad and his wife live in Cape Town, next time you take a photo could you name the beach so I may look it up..my dad has sent photos of Table Mountain etc. but looking at your photos makes me feel closer to him..unfortunately he is no longer able to take photos and his wife is busy working etc.keep up the good work!!

    • Welcome to my blog Susanne.
      How did you find me?
      Where does your Dad live.
      My beach is Kommetjie which is about 7kms from Fishhoek.

  24. Hello, So wonderful to hear back from you!! I truly was NOT expecting it with all you have on your plate.

    I have included their address below. My dad, mom and I immigrated to Canada in 1963 and I had my first birthday aboard that ocean liner. We came through Halifax and settled in Montreal where my younger sister Monika was born in 1964. My parents moved us to Toronto where I started first grade; unfortunately the marriage didn’t last and my parents divorced. Both parents have remarried.My father Heinz met Barbara and moved to Johannesburg where she lived with her Mom and two daughters.,,and eventually she got a job transfer to Cape Town. My dad says the country is JUST beautiful.

    Your lovely photo’s will give me something to talk to my dad about next time we Skype.

    Barbara & Heinz ,
    Livingstone st.
    Windsorpark, Kraaifontein, Cape Town

    I will look up the beach and feel closer to my dad, thank you sooo much,
    Susanne…
    p.s. I have a sexy doctor too!! LOL
    How did I find you? I like to BLOG hop..when I recall “how” I’m guessing you where perhaps a member someplace else, I hope you don’t mind.

    • Hi there Susanne….of course I don’t mind…glad you found my post.
      Your Dad lives a fair way from me.
      Probably about an hour away.
      Looking at your surname I am guessing you were born in this country?
      When last did you see your Dad….it must be hard having him so far away.
      You should come out for a visit.
      Cape Town is one of the most beautiful cities in the world.


Leave a Reply

Categories

