Posted by: granny1947 | January 30, 2012

Granny has a Monday mutter

Hello All.

No walk this morning.
A tiny bit of rain.
And no time.

Wendy and I left for the hospital at 6:30am.
Oh my word.
Traffic,traffic,traffic.
From every damn direction.
I,eventually,dropped Wendy at ten past eight.
Then headed back into the traffic.
I got to work at twenty to nine.
Instead of seven thirty.
Thank heavens my boss was understanding.
At four o’clock I have to do it all in reverse.
Not going backwards,you understand.
Of course you understand.

Then I see in the news that the preferred candidate for the top job of COO(chief operating officer)for the South African Broadcasting Corporation is a guy without even a high school diploma.
And very little experience.
Who lied about having a diploma when he joined the SABC.
An organisation with a 4.7BILLION rand turnover.
The fact that he is a pal of our president is,of course, totally irrelevant!!!!

AND gas is going up tomorrow night by 32 cents a litre.
The guy who does these calculations probably doesn’t have a matric certificate either.

AND…this morning I went into the bedroom and,in a nice tone of voice,asked the granddaughter if she was getting up.
She flounced.
I have never used the word flounce.
But she flounced.
And asked “what sort of question is that?”
I REALLY don’t like teenagers.
I think her father can have her back.
Until she is at least thirty.
And then I will try again.

AND the frigging fingerprint machine keeps telling me(in an American female accent) to please try again.
I am going to do her a serious injury soon.

That is enough AND’S.
I want to go to bed and get this day behind me.

Hope you are all having a MUCH better day.

Responses

  1. AND I hope your day improves

  2. Oh my goodness, you really had a trying day! On days like that, going to bed early seems to be the sanest thing to do just to stop the madness! πŸ™‚

    Hope Wendy is doing well. Give her our love and best wishes.

  3. You are so blunt! “I REALLY don’t like teenagers”. You’re hilarious, granny.

    Can’t believe you got up at 6.30 for the hospital. Ugh, that’s early to be all ready & dressed.

    Your photos are always so fresh, clear, beautiful.

  4. Tomorrow is bound to be better.

  5. I was wondering how your friend Wendy was doing? Teenagers? I don’t even like 27 year olds…..thankfully she moves out this week πŸ™‚

  6. Bit of a blue Monday, then!
    I think I could do a better job at the SABC and we’d all get good programmes to watch again.
    But……TIA, and Zoomer has many pals to give favours to.

  7. Mondays are the best days for muttering. πŸ™‚

  8. Oh, that teenager! I do so admire the people who would calmly respond with, ‘It was a politer form of THIS’ while flinging a container of ice water over her. That sort of thing does tend to get their attention.

  9. I am not going to share my day with you.
    I don’t want you getting jealous.
    No teenagers.
    No finger print machines.
    No traffic.

    Only one low note.
    The promised photos of a parking garage somewhere in SA never materialized. πŸ˜‰

    Have a bonny day on the morrow.

  10. I have had a lovely day. No teenagers! I kind of miss them though. Oh wait it’s the younger ones that I miss. πŸ™‚

  11. Where do teenagers learn their questioning techniques? No matter the country, they’re in stereo! There must be an ECloud Classroom!

  12. my yongest is now 21 and she still acts like a teenager…flounce sums them up beautifully

    • Hi Ruth…I am going to use flounce again…like the way it sounds…much better than shrug!

  13. Poor Granny!

    • No Tilly…Poor teenagers…I can be one frightening Granny!

  14. Teenagers are absolutely horrible. I am coming to Cape Town next weekend πŸ™‚

    • Hi Cindy…I want all the details!

  15. And they’ll wonder why the SABC has to be bailed out I suppose?

    Teenage girls DO flounce!


Leave a Reply

Categories

