Posted by: granny1947 | January 17, 2012

Granny is cooking

Hello All.

I hesitated to post the above photo.
1) A cat on the table,two inches from the dinner plate, is hardly hygienic.
2)My grandson is NOT going to be impressed at having his pic on the web.
Oh, I thought there were more than two reasons.

Tom was hoping for some of Grandson’s supper.
And, sometimes, wishes come true.
Jasmine is at his feet.
Willing him to drop something on the floor.


So…what am I cooking?
It sure isn’t food.
We are having a heatwave.
At three o’clock this morning it was 26 degrees in our lounge.
I feel quite guilty about blogging about the heat.
So many of you are complaining about the cold.

How do I know it was 26deg at 3:00am?
Well, I woke up and saw there was a light on.
Found my grandson playing Quake on MY computer.
Gave him a big fat lecture about playing games at that time of the morning.
He went to bed.
I fired up the computer.
And played games.
I am going to be be VERY tired by lunchtime.

On the health front this tummy bug seems to have taken a shine to me.
It likes it here.
At least something likes my body.
I am back at work but still having cramps and feeling a bit shitty….pun intended.

Today is the day the bigwigs have their meeting.
About giving me a contract.
Hold thumbs.
On the upside…if they don’t offer me a contract…I don’t have to make any difficult decisions.
There is ALWAYS an upside.

Now let me get on with some work.

Later I will catch up on some comments and posts.

Wait!!!

A little vent.
This news snippet today.

The Auditor-Generalโ€™s audited results of government and provincial departments and public entities have painted a picture of huge amounts of public funds being misused by departments and public entities.

More than R20 billion spent by national and provincial departments has been found to have been unauthorised, irregular, wasteful and fruitless expenditure.

I think it speaks for itself.
And the ANC say they are doing a good job.
Pfffffffffffft.

Responses

  1. Pffff indeed granny! The Portuguese government are the same

    • Hi Pip…as much as 20 BILLION????

  2. sitting here reading your post..I have two pairs trousers, two jumpers a scarf and finger gloves plus bed socks on my feet. There are two fires in the room and I could not believe grandson sitting there in shorts and bare feet..brrrr… That made me shiver..then I read further and found 3am 26 degrees..no wonder.

    So get a jam jar pickle a bit of heat and send it over here…please and I think Jennifer and some others may like it too.

    Here is the answer…The sun is on the wrong side of the world!

    • Shame Patrecia…I feel for you…really!

  3. Sorry to hear about the tummy bug – try one tsp of cornflour in a little water and drink it down. Have another teaspoon after each trip to the bathroom – I have never had to have more than 2 teaspoons – it is amazing – and it is cheap and harmless and seems to stop the noisy grumbles!

    Our govt sure know how to spend other people’s money!!

    Good luck with the decisions – never easy but go with your gut instinct.

    • Hi Wolf….my “gut” instinct is a bit suspect at the moment!

  4. I’m glad you’re feeling somewhat better but sorry to hear this nasty bug likes you so much. Only people and animals should like us, not bugs….of *any* kind….

    I wonder what will be done about that missing/misappropriated R20 – okay, so they found out about it, now what? Will they take any action? Will they enforce the action they take? Hmmmm.

    Grandson is a great looking guy. I can see both Tom and Jasmine willing him to toss them a morsel! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hello RD…of course he is good looking….he is mine. ๐Ÿ™‚
      And,no, doubt anything much will be done about the missing funds.

  5. **I meant “R20 BILLION”, of course! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’ve heard some people say that they wish they were a cat or a dog; that life was so simple… well, if no one drops anything to the floor then it can be real dog’s life for both cat and dog ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Hehehe Yada….you have that right!

  7. Hehehhehe…you can have our trace of snow. The town I used to live in has two feet right now. I am glad I moved ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Princess…..I would LOVE your snow right now.

  8. Oh I can hardly wait to see what neat surprises may be in that contract. One thing for certain. You can no and not have lost a thing. They may even up the ante!

    • Hi Amy…they haven’t said anything yet….sigh.

  9. I never ever thought I would have a cat on the table but yes it has happened. The dang cat will not stay off of the table. It’s weird the things we can learn to accept when we love something. I do clean it often! The table that is. The only table food my cat wants is yogurt but the two dogs are after everything else! I have to let them lick the bowl after oatmeal and yogurt.

    Your grandson is quite a handsome lad.

    • Hi Linda….quite?????? ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Bananas I think I heard that bananas are good for your tummy problems.

  11. I would much rather be melting than freezing. Cold seeps into my bones and takes hold. Heat washes off as soon as I jump into the pool, tub, or shower.

    We’re having perfect weather at the moment ~ in the mid 70’s F or 24 C.

    Hope the contract makes your decision easy . . . either because it’s so GOOD or because it’s so BAD. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Hi NR…I am the other way round…I can always put on a sweater but heat like this is killing.

  12. Holding thumbs for you. Thanks for the call last night, will ring you this afternoon xxx

    • Hi Cin..you sure went to bed early…everything ok?

  13. Your pun about the stomach bug is exactly how I feel when I hear any news about the ANC’s financial audits.

    • I know Adee….makes one feel quite ill.

  14. What’s unhygienic about that? It shows great efficiency in having the waste disposal units in close proximity to the food.

    R20 billion is rather too much squandering for it to be regarded as tolerable. One would like to thump all of them very hard, and then get them to surrender all they own in recompense.

    • Hi Col…it is completely intolerable..but nothing will be done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

