Posted by: granny1947 | January 10, 2012

Granny and “what holiday?”

Hello All.

A pic taken from the front passenger seat while driving with Mex.
This is the one view I get every morning when I come down off the mountain.
Thought you would enjoy.
Or not.

Wonderful news.
I got a call from a good friend this morning.
From Port Elizabeth.
I think I have a morning only job when I get there.
We still have to discuss salary and hours but it looks good.
I am over the moon.
Moral….never ever say you are too old!

Oh good grief…where has the time flown to?
Time to go home.
Will have to continue later.
Please be patient.

Where was I?
Hard to concentrate….the neighbours are having a cheerful meal.
A cheerful NOISY meal.
I could close the back door.
But then I could expire from heat exhaustion.
Hell it is hot tonight.
It is 9:30pm and still 24 degrees.
Roll on winter.
I think.

Other good stuff happened today.
I got 450 e-books from a guy at work.
They are nestling on the reader.
Waiting for me.
Great looking books.
I don’t think I am ever going to have to buy a book.
Anyway, not an e-book.

A couple of weeks ago a friend of mine lent me “The Journey” for Wendy to read.
It made a huge impact on her.
Today I found a copy at the 2nd hand bookshop.
Now Wends has her own copy.
I was so pleased.

Oh Dear heaven…I have just watched a horrific episode of Desperate Housewives.
I am sure we are a couple of seasons behind you guys.
There was a tornado.
Does Lynette find her family?
Put me out of my misery.

Now I am off to have a cold shower.
Shyte…it is hot.
Damnit.

 

 

Responses

  1. I’m glad that you have a good friend in Port Elizabeth . . . and a morning only job in the works! Woo Hoo!

  2. Wonderful x 2, Gran. Half-day job – I hope it works out. Just remember that you do nearly a normal days work in half a day… 450 ebooks – lucky you!!! If they were free ebooks please can you ask for the site he got them from. Thanks. I have just googled ‘The Journey’ and it sounds marvellous.

  3. Joburg is having a real highveld summer, scorchers of days, then a lovely thunderstorm to cool it all down in the evening ๐Ÿ˜‰

    just thought I’d tell you.

  4. 450 books! Really? And I thought I was a bookaholic! You have such beautiful views everywhere. Love it.

  5. The mornings only job would be perfect for you granny – just what you wanted; hope you get it.
    You have some pretty awesome views in your neck of the woods!

  6. That’s great news about the job.

    How’s Wendy? Is she melting in the heat or is that incidental?

    Granny, what a friend you are…I’m thinking of you finding a copy of The Journey for Wendy. Man o’ man you are some special human being.

  7. Great about the job!

    Parcel up some sun and the heat and send it to me..I am sitting here with my canary yellow poncho on to keep me warm..its not fair! I want some sun…

  8. Great news about the job!

  9. Congrats about the new job prospect, Granny47 … Always love your pics … I’m a miserable photographer, but I sure appreciate some’s elses work … Love, cat

  10. How wonderful that your friend helped you find a new job in your new town! I’m sure you’ll get it, they’d be fools not to hire you. It’s really good to know there are opportunities there anyway.

    I love the photos! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Wow you really are a few seasons behind on Desperate Housewives! We’re on the last episodes of the last season here, but DD and I will have to watch them on reruns because they’re on opposite the second season of Downton Abbey, which we just CAN’T miss! Anyway, I wouldn’t dream of being the spoiler who tells you if Lynette finds her family….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Have never watched DH — sorry. Congrats on the 450 books — that’s a great gift!

  12. 450 e-books? I wouldn’t mind getting my hands on some new material. I’ve just about finished all my fiction. Now I just have serious stuff left… a bit heavy sometimes.

    • Hi Yada…I tried to e-mail some to you but it doesn’t work.

      • That’s sweet, thank you, granny. I think one can share among reading devices (probably wirelessly) but you need to be together, I think – similar to blue tooth and cell phones – but I’m a little bit far away. I’ll browse the online store today ๐Ÿ™‚

      • No problem Yada…I got mine by copying them onto a memory stick and then copying them onto the reader….worked like a charm.


Leave a Reply

Categories

