Posted by: granny1947 | January 7, 2012

Granny has an anxious day

Hello All.

So I walk out the house this morning and smell smoke.
My heart just sank.
The vegetation on the mountain has only just recovered.
And remember how the ash affected my lungs last time?
It has been perfect fire weather.
As hot as Hades.
And blowing a gale.
Fortunately, it seems to be out.
Well, I don’t see or smell smoke.

Then, on the way to the point(too windy for the beach) the police had closed off the road out of the village.
Not towards town but along the mountain pass to the next village.
I wonder if someone went over the edge.
I hope not.

Then I got down to the point.
There were a couple of shady looking individuals around.
I suddenly noticed that,in certain spots, the path is isolated.
Can’t be seen by the houses.
And I felt uneasy.
For the first time.
Look…they may have been perfectly innocent.
But my gut was telling me otherwise.

I cut the walk short and headed back to the car.
Where I got mad.
Why should I not be able to walk without fear?
What is this bloody world coming to?

Then, tonight I watched the news.
Our President killed a bull with a spear today.
Thank God they didn’t show it.
Apparently, it is to invite the ancestors to the celebration.
They couldn’t send the guys an e-mail?

Also, the bull bellowed.
Supposedly this is a good sign that the ancestors are happy.
Well…Chuck me Farley.
If you came at me with a spear I would bellow too.
Lots of four letter words.
I am sorry….as much as I would love to be tolerant of other cultures and their traditions….there are just some practices I cannot relate to.
Nor do I want to.

Now…I have only one day left before returning to work.
I am going off to curl up in the foetal position.
And moan.

Responses

  1. Your blog post always brings some sunshine into my heart, Granny 47! Thank you so much. I just came home from work (nights) so I think I will curl up into a fetal position as well. Love, cat.
    By the way I’m mostly hanging out at bloggers, not much at wordpress …

    http://catsruledogsdroole.blogspot.com/

    • Hello There Cat…I shall pop over to visit you tomorrow…thanks for the kind words.
      Lots of love.

  2. Oh granny….I feel exactly the same way as you do about those horrible cultural thingies….just horrible! It shouldn’t be allowed. I avoid any news about such things just in case….but I am very aware of them happening…Don had a good giggle at Chuck me Farley….. ๐Ÿ™‚ The fire was on Signal Hill. a big one…..could it possibly be that that you could smell? Enjoy your last day sweetheart….love you xxx

  3. so glad there is no fire. damn those nasty people spoiling life for others

  4. I always root for the bull.

  5. A day of some unease here and there. It is true; why SHOULD one have to look over one’s shoulder all the time.

    As for our revered president – why is it that he and his ilk make it so very difficult for us not to revert to a descriptive term they seem to dislike somewhat? It fits them so well.

  6. Like Nancy, I root for the bull too; some of those cultural practices should be done away with.
    It’s a shame when you get that uneasy feeling when you are out for a walk, minding your own business and enjoying the scenery; sadly, that’s how it is these days… going with your gut feeling was wise.

  7. It is true that one shouldn’t have to look over one’s shoulder, but I’m glad you listened to your gut!

  8. I encourage you to always trust your instinct Granny. Maybe they were just idling the day away with no thoughts of harming anybody, but…:D

  9. Not had a very good day eh Granny my dear… I hate cruelty to animals and sticking a spear into a bull causes the bull pain, no wonder it bellowed. What a nasty nasty tradition..it should be abolished, the same as your president

  10. I would have had the same reactions that you had to all your adventures today and also to your president killing the animal. You are not alone in your thoughts, Kathy. You are the sane one.

  11. I’m with you on the anger and fear. I think it is wise to be careful and wary. As far as acceptance of cultural oddities (in our viewpoint), I think it is natural to find them some of them strange and abhorrent, especially if it involves
    killing animals and deliberately causing them pain.

  12. What a pity about the shady characters but I have to admit that I’m a very big fan of following your gut – I think you were clever to do so (no matter how unfair it felt); rather safe than sorry. As for the spear and the bellowing: I don’t blame the bull either. The things people want to believe… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Hope you enjoyed your last day ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I am sorry your day has not gone well. As bad is yours was, the bull’s was far worse. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    May today be a much better day.

  14. What a horrible ritual that is! I think it’s time they moved into the 21st century….

    It’s good that you listened to your gut – gut instincts are rarely wrong. I hate that we live in such a fearful time, but it seems to be happening everywhere. I used to hike in the woods, then a few years ago it became too risky. Police everywhere strongly advised against it. Campsites with entire families were being attacked; couples were being found dead. Sick stuff. I miss hiking and doing my nature photography so much, but I guess safety has to win out. ::sigh:: ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  15. Way to listen to your instincts, Granny. Don’t want to play around with those nudges. I know…I’ve been scared after having to fire a hot-headed employee. I got mad, too, that I was scared spitless to fall asleep in my own house.

    • Oh Dear Souldipper…I haven’t had that experience but the goverment might just come after me when I vent. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Nature plays a big role in your life, right Granny?

    • A huge part Hook…but really only later in life.

  17. In an ideal world the bull would also have a pointy stick, and then we’d hear something fun! Lovely photo, very tropical!

    • Hi Dave…I would like to see them stab the bull without having him secured…now THAT would be interesting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

