Posted by: granny1947 | January 1, 2012

Granny is yawning

Hello All.

So…I saw in the new year.
Not that I wanted to.
The first firework went off and Jasmine was at my side.
Protect me Mommy.
She tried to get under the bed.
As it is only a couple of inches off the floor, that didn’t work.
Eventually I took her into Wendy’s room and we slept there.
With Tom curled up behind me and purring.

Also, one of my idiot kids phoned just after midnight.
I didn’t get to the phone in time.
Or they had a sudden rush of commonsense.
Or remembered just WHO they were calling.
I suppose I should be happy that they thought of me.
But I am not at my best in the middle of the night.

Mex has FINALLY taken himself off to the doctor.
Says the smoke from the fire has aggravated his chest.
I showed admirable restraint.
I never said I told you so.
Though I wanted to.

We haven’t been to the beach yet.
It is looking a bit grey.
And it is cool.
Something to look forward to later on.
This being Cape Town it will probably be a lovely day in ten minutes time.

Well, I got that wrong.
It is half an hour later and it is still grey.
Mex is back.
Guess what.
He needed an antibiotic.
I am trying,very hard, not to be smug.
Hopefully they work fast.
Nothing worse than a sick man.

Well, seeing as how I have done nothing I have nothing much to say.
I have cleaned the one toilet.
Thought you should know that.
And the wash basin etc.
And wafted a duster around a bit.
I think I have earned a little nap.

If anything eventful happens, later, I will be back.

Responses

  1. good for you, a really energetic start to the day – hehehe

    • Hi Sidey…sarcasm is the lowest form of wit….I should know!

  2. You cleaned on New Years Day? That’s not allowed – is it?
    Managed to see the New Year in and then sat chatting to my boys in NZ till 2am – am feeling very sleepy now.
    Wishing you all the best for the New Year – hope it is everything you wish for.

    • Thanks Wolf…hope your new resolution is to start a blog?????

  3. Happy New Year Granny! Hope you have a great one! Don’t feel alone on the cleaning thing – my mom made me help with the laundry, the dishes, clean the bathroom and tidy my room…I’m exhausted.

    • Hi Mid-Thirty…good to see you again…are you still blogging….or are you one of the ones who have dropped off my notifications?

  4. Glad to hear Mex finally went to the doctor.
    Happy New Year Granny.

    • Thanks Barb…the same to you my friend.

  5. Happy New Year, Granny. Starting as you mean to go on, I see πŸ˜‰

    • Of course Tilly….housework low on my list of things I want to do.

  6. The new year comes whether you want it to or not, right Granny?
    Try to enjoy your day.

    • Thanks Hook…as days go…it went.

  7. Happy New Year, Kathy.

  8. I also had an ‘energetic’ day, lol! Painted my toenails turquoise! It looks terrible, but the change made me feel good.

    Glad Mex got help. My neighbour has been coughing for months!

    • Turquoise Adee!!!
      You are one brave lady.

  9. After the effort of letting us know about your toilet cleaning operations, you DEFINITELY need a rest! πŸ™‚

    Men are built differently to suffer more when they get ill. You should show deep sympathy! They also have receptors inhibited by illness so that suggestions about fires and antibiotics don’t register.

    • Good Morning Col….how you guys stick together!!!!

  10. Yep it’s always important when someone cleans a toilet. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Linda…my second favourite task.
      My best is picking up dogpoop.

  11. Some people brought their dogs to the beach to watch the fireworks last night.

    Poor pups!

    Got home at 12:33 . . . sound asleep by 12:37. Did NOT stir until 9 am. Not even for a quick bathroom break.

    Sleeping like a log (or a rock) is a nice change of pace.

    Happy NOW Year!

    • What morons NR.
      Not all dogs seem to be affected by fireworks but Jasmine is terrified of them.
      And the starters gun on the sports field.
      And cars back firing.

  12. Happy New Year Granny! Hope you have a wonderful year ahead — may your problems be few and your bounty overflowing.

    Lovely picture of the beach — thanks for that.

    • The same to you KLRS…I do hope this year is a better one for you.

  13. Yay! Hope Mex gets better soon – for everyone’s sake πŸ™‚

    • You can say that again Yada!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

