Posted by: granny1947 | December 15, 2011

Granny crosses the finishing post

Hello All.

And, finally, it has arrived.
The last day of work for this year.
It has been a long,hard year.
I really need this break.

Jasmine has not been for a walk for two days.
Which means I haven’t either.
Our climate is supposed to be Mediterranean.
Which is hot dry summers and cold wet winters.
Humpffffffffff.
It has been raining for two days.
Yesterday, I almost turned the car heater on.
The weather gods have gone on holiday.

I don’t know what happened to yesterday.
I was so busy at work.
However, everything is done and dusted.
I can go on holiday with a clear conscience.
And a clean desk.

Last night I rushed around cleaning.
Then I sorted out piles of clothes.
Putting them on a heap to be packed and then taking them off again.
Women bloggers will understand this.
I was irritating myself.
When I get home this afternoon I will see just how much I can fit into one bag.
I try to pack as little as possible.
My friend makes up for it.
She takes EVERYTHING.
And most of it duplicated.
Just in case she loses something.

My staff are all packing up their computers.
They all have to be put away.
There is a cleaning crowd coming in next week.
They will be doing our floors.
I am leaving my computer until the last possible minute.
I just cannot sit and do nothing.
Although I have tried.

At twelve thirty I am off to the shops.
I need to stock up the fridge with goodies for Wendy,Granddaughter and Mex.
Wendy and P. get back on Sunday.
Wendy goes for her second chemo on Monday.
I do hope it goes as well as the first one.
Her only side effect has been sleeping a lot.

Now I am going to end off.
Try not to miss me too much.
I will be taking a little notebook with me.
To jot down things to tell you.
And loads of pictures.
That goes without saying.

Love you all lots.

Responses

  1. Have a wonderful holiday, Gran. And all my very best wishes to Wendy and the rest of your clan. Have a blessed and peaceful Christmas! ♥

  2. HAve a great Christmas, new year and holiday from work!

    Boas festas e Feliz Natal!

  3. have a wonderful break, see you the other side

  4. Have a wonderful time!

  5. Have a wonderful well deserved break granny. Merry Christmas! Love you xxx

  6. Have a wonderful holiday! I *will* miss you, though. I’ll be on a blogging hiatus from Dec. 22-27, so it may be a while before we catch up with each other again. 😦

    I’m like you with packing – just what I need and nothing else. If a bra strap breaks, I’m screwed. 😉

    Sleeping isn’t such a bad side effect – I do hope Wendy continues to handle the chemo well.

    I’m wondering how P did in London with her “reunion”; I hope it went well for her.

    Love you lots too, Granny! Looking forward to your return, your stories, and your photos! 🙂

    Merry Christmas and a happy, healthy 2012!

  7. Have a wonderful time! Love, Rebecca

  8. Thanks for mentioning Wendy. I’ve been keeping her in my prayers. I hope her next round of chemo goes well.

  9. I side with you on the ‘doing nothing’ bit, but I definitely side with the friend on packing, except I don’t pack duplicates; I just like to be prepared, that’s all 🙂 I do hope that you have a fabulous trip and come back and tell us all about it! Travel safe #wave#

  10. Wishing you a merry X-Mas and a Happy New Year. Your blog is awesome. Your pics are superb, as always. Blessed be. Love, cat.

  11. Bon Voyage!

    Let’s meet up on Christmas Eve and share some Christmas Cheer! 😀

  12. Now I know why I had a dream of packing, unpacking, losing airline tickets and forgetting to check out of hotels.

    That’s so totally unlike me that I woke up wondering what on earth is going on.

    Think I was having a little sympathy dream for you, Granny!

  13. Have a wonderful and relaxing break granny, you deserve it. A lot has happened this year in your life.
    Love to all your family and especially to you.

  14. Hooray for the finishing post! Now you can relax and have a wonderful break.

  15. Have a great time!!!!!!!!!

  16. Hey, I just wanted to let you know that you are a Preliminary Nominee for The Dark Globe Outstanding Artist Awards Blogger of the Year Award, as Nominated by dribblingpensioner… In the end, there will only be 5 Final Nominees in each of the 3 Categories, which will be determined on December 20th… If you make the Final 5 Blogger of the Year cut, Voting for the actual Awards will begin December 21st through December 31st… And the Award Winners will be Announced on January 1st… To see your actual Nomination,and for the Official Rules, you can go here http://thedarkglobe.wordpress.com/2011/12/13/the-dark-globe-outstanding-artist-awards/#comment-281

    Gratz, and if you make the Final Cut, Good Luck! Either way, Kudos for being Nominated

    DarkJade
    Editor/Creator/and one of the Writers of The Dark Globe

  17. Travel safe and have a wonderful time.

  18. Have a wonderful Holiday my friend…and enjoy the break….here I will have three days off..and looking forward to being with family and friends….I enjoy your photos….the beach is always inviting and beautiful…I live about 30 min drive from our nearest beach….Happy Holidays !!!

    • Hello Penny…enjoy your three days off…and take a drive to the beach…it will be worth the effort.

  19. Happy holidays, my dear friend xxx

  20. Try not to miss the work scene TOO much!

    I am sure Jasmine will appreciate more beach time. My pack have been utterly deprived, lately.

    • Well, Col, you will have to remedy that as soon as possible…they might just turn on you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

