Posted by: granny1947 | December 5, 2011

Granny is testing

Hello All.

Take no notice of me.
I am trying to post in Firefox.
And it is working.
Well, I’ll be damned.
No jumping around the place.
No funny business.
Just darn slow.

I don’t like Firefox.
Don’t know why.
Grandson put it on my computer.
So he can go onto Facebook and I don’t have to keep remembering my password.
Also, he plays his games through Firefox.
And heaven knows what else he does here.

Sigh…does this mean I will have to use Firefox now?
Can I keep Explorer on too?
Yes, don’t be dumb Granny.

Another question for the experts out there.
Dribbling Pensioner?
My laptop is set up wirelessly.
If my grandson is playing on it while I am on my PC can it slow my connection down?
If the answer is yes I am going to kill the bugger.
I was playing a very exciting game of Rummikub,online, earlier and it froze just as I was about to win.

Mex and I went down to our local for a pizza earlier.
What a disaster.
There was a big party right next to us.
Just behind us they had a table for their kids.
About a hundred of the little horrors(not really)
The noisiest kids I have ever heard.
I am getting old.
For the first time in my life I wished I was deaf.
No I didn’t but you know what I mean.

Now I am off to bed.
Nite all.

Responses

  1. Good night Granny…Now it is tomorrow, so Good Morning.

    Have you tried Chrome.I find it better then IE and Firefox just did not work at all..don’t know about you wireless connections….

    If there was a big noisy party going on why did you not go somewhere else?

    • Hi Patrecia…we were already there when the big party arrived…not much choice in our village either.

  2. I was using Firefox but lately I’ve had more screams than joy. For the past month or so it did nothing but tell me “(not responding)”. Finally I was fed-up. Tried cleaning off my computer, reorganizing, opening less pages at the same time, etc. and then I was ready to call it quits. I tried IE but finally – for now – settled on Google Chrome. Finally some peace and actually enjoying what I’m doing. Sleep tight.

    • Hi Yada…will try chrome from the house…seem to recall trying Chrome once and not liking it but I could be wrong…I frequently am wrong.

  3. You always make me laugh, granny. I haven’t the foggiest idea about Firefox or Google chrome etc. You really blinded me with science there. 😉 Be kind to your grandson. You never know when you might need his help. 😉 xxx

    • Hi there AD…great to see you again….I must really pop over to letterdash some time.

  4. Firefox is better than Exploder…. that’s my techie son speaking, BTW

    • My grandson says the same Pseu!

  5. Try Google Chrome Granny. I use Firefox mostly but I tend to switch to Chrome as it loads media faster. Firefox used to be very good, but it’s become a bit bogged down and cumbersome recently.

    You must have heard the joke about Internet Explorer? Q: Why does Windows come loaded with a Internet Explorer? A: Because it’s a great tool for downloading Firefox.

    Ba bum tish.

    Well I thought it was funny when I first heard about a million years ago.

    Anyway, ace photo Granny, looks like a pyramid!

    • Hi Dave…so much advice from everyone…at least I now have three options.

  6. I used FireFox at home but it was having fits of stupidity, so I moved to Google Chrome. I no longer have any issues with my internet pages. My sentences are not lines apart and my sites fully load without problems.

    As for your grandson and you on the computers at the same time, yes he could be the cause of your game freezing. According to my techie husband, he says if one of you are playing a game online that uses a lot of bandwidth, then the other computer will have the issues. It depends on the games, though, sometimes it might be graphics, which are being bandwidth hogs. Sometimes it could be streaming live video/radio that is the hog. I’d ask him what he is doing – if he is reading posts/emails, it shouldn’t freeze you at all. But some of those FB games could be the culprit. You can always test it by asking him to play a game while you do what you would normally be doing to recreate the scenario. I had to kick my son off of certain FB games because they would make my online experience slow. I’d let him get back to the games once I was finished.

    Ahh, without these little bumps in life, the ride would be boring. 🙂

    Have a fantastic week!

    • Thanks so much MJ…the grandson is now banned from the laptop until I go to bed…well…maybe facebook.

  7. Glad your post passed the test! 😀

  8. You could try Google Chrome – it works perfectly with WordPress. I gave up on IE two years ago.

    • Hi Barb…I might try it from home as Firefox seems slow there…Firefox seems to work well here at work.

  9. R’s neighbor lady came into the shop the other day complaining to him that her Facebook page was all hinky, and he just pointed at me and said I could help. Well, Philistine that he is, he was using Explorer and indeed her page was gobbledygook. I opened FF and had the problem fixed in a couple of minutes. Firefox rules.


Leave a Reply

Categories

