Posted by: granny1947 | November 22, 2011

Granny and tedious Tuesday

Hello All.

Yes, I am feeling a bit flat.
Actually,that is not true.
I wish I WAS feeling flat.
However, I am feeling bulgy and FAT.
Flat would be good.

My staff have nothing to do.
I have never known work to be so quiet at this time of the year,
Usually,we are going nuts trying to get everything done before shutdown.
Not this year.
I have a lot of work to do.
Is there something wrong with that picture?
My staff are sitting around doing nothing and I am busy.
Do you know how hard it is to be working away when everyone else is doing nothing?
Ok…Have given them all count sheets to do.
Now I feel better.
I am evil.

Mex and I went out to dinner last night.
A local place.
It was very nice.
And the blue writing is back!

We were discussing Xmas and decided it would be a quiet one with just the two of us.
Today younger son phoned and said we can join them if we like.
I would be quite happy to have a really quiet day but it will probably be my last Christmas with my kids(some of them) so maybe I had better make the effort.

 

We had a firedrill this morning.
The only problem is we can’t hear the alarm.
Fortunately we have a long wall of windows looking onto the factory.
My staff noticed everyone leaving.
I have to don a bright jacket and do a roll call outside.
I want to tell you….if there is ever a REAL fire…I am grabbing my handbag and my carkeys and I am am rescuing my little yellow car.
It can’t get out on it’s own.
And I am fond of the thing.
Oh yes, my camera comes too.

The beach was glorious this morning.
I know I keep saying that but it IS true.
Most days.

I got chatting to one of the locals.
About cancer and arthritis and heart disease.
You know, all that cheerful stuff.
He informed me that milk is one of the worst things we can drink.
Apparently, it encourages the cancer cells we all have.
I didn’t want to know that.
I like milk.
Now I will have to have wine on my corn flakes!

Now that I have all my staff beavering away I guessΒ  I should work too.

Oh yes….I leave for Swaziland on the 16th and come back on the 23rd.
I reckon I had better do my Christmas shopping next week.
That will be a first for me.
Or….I can just give everyone the little bottles of shower gel and shampoo.

Responses

  1. those photographs are great! well done.

    • Hey Jenny…great to see you again…how are you?

  2. You covered a lot of ground in this post ~ travel, Christmas, shopping, fire drills, etc. You keep moving like that and you’ll be flat in no time! πŸ˜€

    Some thoughts on milk:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/06/27/the-age-of-mis-information/

    We use vanilla soymilk in our coffee and on our cereal ~ regular soymilk tastes like you’re drinking a glass of grass. πŸ˜‰

    • Hi NR…a very good post….am still confused!

  3. yuck ! wine on cornflakes, even the thought is revolting… I would like to know why milk is bad for you! According the Edwina Currie in the UK, she’s an MP , everything is bad for you, eggs, bacon,bread,pork, red meat and anything else she could think of..silly cow!

    If you are a little plump, you are not fat, you are round and cuddly..join the club!

    And I think you should give everyone gel and shampoo..make life easy

    • Hi Patrecia…I will have to see how many of those little bottles I can collect in a week!!!

  4. Why will this be your last Christmas with some of your kids? Did I miss something?

    Forget the cereal, just have the wine for breakfast – it’ll make it much easier for you to join your staff and do nothing all day. LOL πŸ˜‰

    • Hi RD…you must have missed the post where I talked about leaving Cape Town next year. I am moving up to Port Elizabeth to look after my parents.

      • I do remember you talking about that, but I thought it was something you were *considering*. I didn’t realize it was a final decision. Sorry about that! ::blush::

  5. Excellent pics … seems you live in a piece of paradiese … and don’t worry about anything else … health and love is all we need to live well … everything else destroys inner peace … I just learned that just now (again).
    Blessed be, cat. PS: Regards to Tom …meow πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much Cat….talking of Tom…he had a little red tick almost on his mouth…couldn’t get a grip on it…mental note…try again tonight!

  6. Another trip – Yay! Hope you have tons of fun πŸ™‚ Not hearing the alarm can be a problem… hope someone reported it.

    • Hi Yada…I reported it but it isn’t really a problem…my guys were very quick to notice everyone leaving…might be a different story if I was alone!

  7. Wine on cornflakes? There’s a thought!

    Lovely photos as always. The beach looks wonderful.

    • Hi Elaine…what can I say…the beach is wonderful!!!

  8. In lieu of shampoo and gel, can I just have the wine and cornflakes? I like milk on my cereal but if it’s a choice between cancer or pickling my liver, I’m gonna have to throw the liver under the bus.
    Mwuhhhhh

    • Hi Morgue…I agree….the liver can go. πŸ™‚

  9. Love the pictures. Amazing how the same scenes are always fresh and new. The place seems to have a million moods.

    There is an easy way to avoid all the foods that are bad for us. Starve to death. Personally, I prefer not only to go on living, but to enjoy life. Notice that what is poison today is the miracle food of next year?

    • So Col….you are saying my beach is moody??????

  10. Col said it right! Don’t believe all you hear, Gran. Marketing etc. lie through their teeth!

    More beeeutiful photo’s. Thanks!

    Btw, why can’t you hear the fire alarm? That’s not good!!!

    • Hi Adee…my stores is walled off from the factory floor…they are talking of putting a siren in here too.

  11. It sounds like Granny needs a break πŸ™‚

    • You could be right Tilly!

  12. Does the slower time mean the world is finally sufficiently “suited up” at airports? Do we have all equipment we need? Wouldn’t that be wonderful! I

    That morning light is so good. Your photos are lovely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

