Posted by: granny1947 | November 14, 2011

Granny has a rude awakening

Hello All.

So I was woken at four thirty this morning by an almighty bang.
It was still dark but could see there had been an accident right outside our house.
Only when it got a bit lighter could I see the vehicle was on it’s roof.
And it had hit our wall.
We now have a piece of prefab hanging down with the security spikes intact.
The vehicle took out a tree and a lot of bushes.
We now have a view!

The damn car must have been going at a hell of a speed.
It had spun round and flipped before hitting the wall.
Ended up facing the way it had been coming from.
I phoned the police…who took a while to arrive.
The fire brigade was there.
The ambulance service. 
And of course the vultures.
I don’t know about overseas ,but here, the towtrucks are, often, the first on the scene.
Are there too many commas in that sentence?
There was no wailing or gnashing of teeth so I am assuming no-one was killed.

Look at the colour of that sea.
Magic.
It is supposed to be summer here.
There was snow on the Cape mountains over the weekend.
I never saw it.
But I read about it.
On Facebook.
So it must be true!

A photo from the little tour on Thursday.

That damn seal has the exact same expression Jasmine puts on when she wants to go for a walk.
I am immune.
Almost.

From a live seal to a dead one.
Jasmine looking at me as if to say “what is this Mom?”
So, you have life,death and near death.
A fairly balanced  post.
Except that there should be something about birth.
If one of my offspring phone to tell me they are pregnant I am leaving.
And I am not leaving a forwarding address.

Now I am off for some lunch.
Wait…I am dieting.
Damnit.

Responses

  1. I love that seal. It’s expression tells me it wants me to come adopt him.
    You get all the excitement, don’cha woman? Cars never crash into my home.
    And that scenery,oh you are so lucky.
    I’m on a diet too. The seefood diet. I see food, I eat it. ha ha ha.

    • Hi Morgue…shhhhhh….if I don’t think diet I don’t want to eat all the time.

  2. Your visitors are a bit abrupt in the way they arrive!
    Our seas never quite manage to do that blue!
    The steps have a seal of approval?
    Like Annie, Jasmine has become quite a solid citizen.

    • Col!!!!!!!!!
      Are you insinuating my baby has put on weight????????

  3. That crash nearly puts last nights snoring into perspective.

    • Hehehe Pseu….yours or mine?

      • him indoors

  4. Oh dear what a calamity…..glad nobody was killed but he must have been doing some speed..

    Why are you dieting Granny? WE all love you just as you are, with or without the tweeky bits….

    • I need to P….I have very fine bones…they protest at extra weight.

  5. Do you think the trees helped at all, that it might have crashed through the wall had it not been there? I’m glad no one died.

    The seals are adorable. What happens to the dead one? Does nature simply take care of it or does someone come to take it away? I wonder what Jasmine would do without her daily walk on the beach? She’s a lucky dog.

    • Hi Yada…I think nature will look after it’s own.

  6. I guess that driver REALLY wanted to pay you a visit! 😉 He must have been awfully drunk to do what he did.

    Love the seal! Such sweet eyes. Yuck about the dead one, though. Jasmine looks so proud of her discovery! LOL

    • Morning RD….The seal had such pleading eyes…the lady auditor wanted to go down and pat him…I talked her out of it!!!

  7. Nice post granny, the tow trucks are always last over here.

    • Hi Harry…completely the opposite here…I can’t stand them…they will tell you they got permission to tow the car when the owner is barely conscious!

  8. I am so living through you right now…

    • What Princess?????
      I’ll take that as a compliment but you are young and must have so much going for you!

  9. Yike, Granny, that is too close for comfort. So glad all peeps are okay.

    Look at that little face, Ms Almost! Which make me wonder…do dogs generally stay away from seals? I haven’t been around both at one time.

    • No Souldipper…I have seen dogs VERY interested in seals….Jasmine is very wary of things she doesn’t understand.

  10. It’s a good thing your wall stopped him from landing on your front steps!

    Love the color of the sea and the seal . . . the one that’s still breathing.

    Good luck making good food choices, granny.

    • So far so good NR…am feeling great.

  11. You can get that close to seals? How exciting. They are so cute. Great picture of Jasmine, she is beautiful.

    • Thank you Linda…I also think she is beautiful. 🙂

  12. And I slept thro it all! To all Granny’s friends out there – I need you to know what a special person she is. She has given me back my figjtiing spirit, fed me rabbit food (and some treats) and not complained that I am now competing with Jasmine in the hair shedding department. We are all blessed to have her in our lives. Wendy

    • Awwwwwww my dear friend…I love you so much.

  13. Glad the car didn’t come through the wall and into your house granny.
    The beach looks awesome, that lovely blue ocean looks inviting!
    Jasmine looks proud of her find”, “What do we do now mom?” she is asking!

    • I am glad too Barb…that would have been a bit disconcerting!!!

  14. Good grief!

  15. Grumpy Granny doesn’t like being woken in the night, I take it? 🙂

    • Who’s a grumpy granny then??????????

      • Grumpy granny never, well hardly ever, seldom, maybe now and then, sometimes 🙂

      • Me grumpy?
        Never.
        I am a sweet old lady who sits and knits all day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

