Posted by: granny1947 | September 27, 2011

Granny ….Take two

Hello All.

Again.

This granny is fading fast.
Four o’clock can’t come quick enough.
I feel rotten.
And inadequate.
Why do I feel inadequate?
I’ll tell you.

Twice a month several staff members get together at lunchtime.
Each of them show a few photographs and the others discuss them.
My word….I am SUCH an amateur.
Their stuff is gorgeous.
Some of the meeting I found a bit boring.
When they discussed settings.
And pixels.
And types of lenses.
And photo applications.
What?????
I point the camera.
Play with the zoom till I like the picture.
And click.
Obviously, I have such a lot to learn.
Like spitting water onto a spider web to make it stand out.

I only showed one picture.
The Huskies on the beach one.
It turns out the dogs belong to a whole lot of people.
These guys fetch them and take them to the beach.
For a price.
So, now we all know.
They are dog sitters/sledders.

I hear that our goverment is going to refure to allow the Dalai Lama into the country.
Again.
Bishop Tutu has invited him to his 80th birthday party.
They are both Nobel prize winners.
But China does not want us to let him in.
And,apparently, we listen to China.
Just in case they stop selling us all their crap.
As far as possible I try not to buy anything made in China.
There have been so many cases of contamination.
Lead in paint etc.

Talking about buying foreign stuff.
One of the supermarkets had a special offer on toothepaste.
R5-00 for a large tube AND a free toothbrush.
Mex bought one.
Then we read the box.
Made in Tanzania.
I didn’t know anything was made in Tanzania.
I don’t know where the hell Tanzania is.
Somewhere in Africa.
I used to know all the countries in Africa.
However, since my school days ,they have changed all the names.
The tube is standing on the basin.
I am waiting for Mex to try it.
See if his teeth fall out.
I think he is doing the same!

On that note I shall end now.
Almost time to go home.
I am going to lie on my bed and moan gently.
Don’t think it will help much.

Responses

  1. Don’t worry Granny! You take gorgeous photos! Some folk just like to ramble on about focus lengths, aperture stuff, composition…blah blah blah. Just point and shoot at what makes you happy!

    On the subject of toothpaste, I read it wrong, I thought it said Tazmania at first!

    • Hi Dave…I think I would be less dubious if it WAS Tasmania!!!

  2. Granny have a good moan, you will find it will do you good.

    • Hi Harry…a moan only helps if it brings sympathy!!!!

  3. I do hope you feel better soon. I can’t believe that South Africa won’t allow the Dalai Lama in for the party. China is the biggest trading partner with the USA and he is here all the time. I don’t know if I’d use toothpaste from Tanzania either.

    • Hehehe Maire…you know then!

  4. I saw Tanzania on the map when I was prepping for DH to go to Mozambique. The only thing I’d consider buying from there is tanzanite – what a gorgeous blue/purple stone.

    Your pictures are gorgeous, you don’t need to mess with pixels, apertures, lenses, blahblahblah. You have natural photographic talent.

    USA let the Dalai Lama in despite China’s protestations. What are they going to do, stop sending us their cheap crap? They’d lose half their income. I don’t buy anything from there either, in fact I get really excited when I find things made in the USA. So sad.

    Anyway, have a good moan and feel better!

    • Hello RD…we have such weak leadership….China seems to be calling the shots…makes me want to go grrrrrrrrrrrrrr

  5. Funny that your post was on photography: just as I opened this one I thought how I loved your pictures – how the blues and and the greens were so soothing for me. Photography is an art – and each person thinks that something else is beautiful – but just like the car you drive, the neighbourhood you live in or the jewelry you wear, it can be a – excuse my blatant expressing – pissing contest. When it comes to photography… I think beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Just aim, focus, shoot and love it; don’t compare. It’ll strip away the joy.

    Let us know how the Tanzanian toothpaste worked out… πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Yada…have never professed at being an expert…just enjoy it so much.
      I am watching Mex with interest.

  6. Your photos speak louder than any philosophic, photography guru’s words ever could.
    Bless You…oh, and the “Dribblingpensioner” said he is still awaiting your acceptance speech.
    Bless You
    paul

    • Hi Paul…Harry will have to wait…am taking my aching body to bed in a minute.

  7. Oh, speaking of the dribbler, I think you may have been spending too much time on his site…and picked up a few bad habits…like the tooth brush trick seen here:
    http://dribblingpensioner.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/squaretesticles/

  8. Some people want to know all the rules BEFORE they start . . . others just START and the way appears.

    I love your photos. I don’t give a shit how many pixels they have or how many apps you use to capture them. πŸ˜€

    As for China . . . πŸ˜›

    • Thanks NR….I needed that…yep…just won’t go to the meetings anymore and enjoy what I do!

  9. keep on doing what your doing…. it’s great!

    • Thanks Pseu….their stuff looked way better than mine…think I will just stop going!

  10. Being strictly the point and shoot type of photographer I don’t give a .. how many pixels, what focus etc. I love your photos just as they are. And toothpaste from Tanzania? Ooh leave it on the shelf or right at the back of the cupboard. Maybe the mice might like to clean their teeth. πŸ™‚

  11. Your pics are great and you are too funny!

  12. I thought I was the only one who hasn’t kept up with names of countries. You make me feel good, Granny!

    Tanzania – the world pronounces it one way and the country’s inhabitants quietly pronounce it their way. I keep running into young Canadians who go there for periods of time to help out. Maybe they help make toothpaste! πŸ˜€

    • Morning Souldipper….I will still wait for mex to test it!

  13. I hope you get to feeling better soon.
    My positive healing thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Thanks for the update on the huskies. That’s so nice that guy does that. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks EC…the prayers are working…I feel MUCH better today.


Leave a Reply

Categories

