Posted by: granny1947 | August 6, 2011

Granny and the six year old

Hello All.

So…today was day one with a six year old in the house.
Her mother and father have gone to a Spa for the weekend.
A LONG weekend.

I had forgotten what it is like to have a six year old.
The little buggers have to be watched.
ALL the time.
I haven’t had my nap.
I am a grumpy granny.

I left her door slightly open last night.
She was woken up early this morning.
With a big hairy kiss from Jasmine.
I was woken with a little girl in the bed between Mex and me.
Apparently he said she could get in.
He must have been half asleep.

As soon as I moved she informed me she was hungry.
This before I had even had my coffee.
Or my bloodpressure pill.
This continued for a while.
Then she said “Granny I am so hungry I could eat a horse and 200 camels”
Now that is what I call hungry.
She hasn’t stopped eating all day.
She is such a skinny little thing.
I have no idea where she puts it all.

The two of us took Jasmine to the beach.
They had a wonderful time.
Racing up and down.
Her tail and tongue never stopped.
Jasmine’s too.

Another perfect winter day.

This afternoon my daughter in law phoned me.
Said she was lying on a lounger in the sun.
With her book.
And a drink.
Feeling very relaxed.
Sometimes I don’t think I like her!!!

Hope YOU lot are having a relaxed weekend!

Responses

  1. good to have jasmine to keep the child entertained

    • Think Jasmine is a bit over her now Sidey…you can play now???

  2. Lol! you make me laugh.

    • I am so glad Sue…I am not laughing…I get a scrabble and am still losing!!!

  3. Your granddaughter is adorable, even if she is hungry.

    • And she IS hungry Maire…All the time…the kids expects three meals a day!

  4. Bwahaha. You don’t fool me. You’re loving every minute of it.

    • Most of them NR…most of them…she comes out with little gems.

  5. She looks an absolute little darling.

    I love your closing lines!

    • thanks Col…from you that is high praise!

  6. That is, both sets. The tongue and tail, and the not liking a relaxed daughter ones.

  7. There’s never a dull moment with a child in the house. Sounds like Jasmine is happy to a little one to play with for awhile. I hope you all have a super fun visit. 🙂

    • Jasmine has been in her element EC!!!

  8. Thank goodness for Jasmine to keep her entertained for 5 minutes.
    Admit it, you are loving it!

    • Well, I WAS Barb…but she threw a little hissy fit just now…she lost a bit of her charm!

  9. Hahahahahaha…have a fun weekend Granny!!

    • Hi Princess…thanks love.

  10. Good to have a child to keep Jasmine entertained 🙂

    One of your funniest posts, Granny. I love it.

    • Thank you tilly…I am all finnied out for today…can’t think of a thing to blog about!

  11. I loved your blog about entertaining a six year old. Just finished five days with an eight year old. May post some photos on my blog next week if I can learn how!
    I know how tiresome it is to have to think about and for another when one is not used to it.. And always talking.
    But like you, I loved it. We splurge on stuff to do when he’s here. Fishing, swimming, zoo, carnival, boating, water park, etc etc. Never let him get bored.
    Whew, I’m tired!

    • Hello There Clarbojahn…thank you so much for the visit.
      FIVE days….you are a braver woman than me!

  12. I get a funny feeling that the food don’t stay long enough to become buddies before it up and leaves making room for more! 😀 Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    • She has emptied my refrigerator!

  13. She sure is a cutie, and seems to have MEX wrapped around her pinkie! xxx

    • Not really Cindy…think he was half asleep!

  14. You’re fooling no one Granny. You’re probably pampering her even as you put on this pretence of cribbing. Her smile is such a give away.:-)

    • I love the kid Dreaming…she is a real livewire.

  15. That’s one happy child!

    • Hi Hook…Happy and confident.


Leave a Reply

Categories

