Posted by: granny1947 | July 20, 2011

Granny’s wake up call.

Hello All.

No…I have not had a lightbulb moment.
I am not contemplating my life.
Or my death.
Nothing deep and interesting like that.
After all…this is ME we are talking about.

I am not observant.
I have mentioned this before.(maybe not on WP)
Example.
Driving on a busy street with elder son.
A white bakkie trying to get into the traffic from a gas station.
Bakkie hoots.
Elder son waves.
I drive on and elder son tells me my younger son is in bakkie.
I hadn’t let him in.
I wonder if he has rejection issues?

I mention all this because I drive to work at about the same time every morning.
I don’t recognise anyone.
In my defence it IS dark.
At the moment.
However, there is one exception.
Every day this week a motorbike has passed me.
Almost taking a bit of my paintwork with him.
He scares the crap out of me.
And any residue of sleep vanishes.
The day is coming.
I am going to get a fright and jerk.
I am going to take him out.
Revenge will be sweet.

In case anyone is wondering.
My cold is doing well.
I am on some meds.
I no longer care.
Somehow, I don’t think one is supposed to take them on an empty tummy!

Have a lovely day.

Responses

  1. This post should have been called Granny Is A Little Bit Scary πŸ™‚

    Your poor son πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tilly…he is big and ugly enough to handle a bit of rejection.
      Me scary?
      Never!

  2. I can’t see my hand in front of my face and often offend people by not greeting them. I also wave at random people who are waving at someone behind me. Even when I’m not on meds.
    You’re forgive, after all, you’re really old.
    *runs away fast*
    love you xxx

    • You can run but I know your phone number Cindy!!!!

  3. Glad you’re feeling better.

    • Thanks Maire…boy did I battle to place my comment on your post.

  4. My husband always waves at passing vehicles
    I say ‘who was that’?
    He always knows…
    Me, I don’t recognize anyone unless they are standing before me.
    I don’t think that younger son will hold a grudge.

    I am so pleased that you are feeling better

    • Hi Patrecia…love your new avatar.

  5. Heehee I know how you feel! I’m typically an observant person, but it always seems that when I miss something, it’s always something important or insulting to someone – Murphy’s Law! Glad you’re feeling better! πŸ™‚

    • I am the worst RD…am not sure what colour our roof is…think it is green!

  6. Behave! πŸ˜‰

    • Why NR?
      Don’t be a spoilsport.

  7. Okay — what is a bakkie?
    I’m sure your son forgives you — LOL!
    Thanks for the morning chuckle — glad to hear you’re on the mend.

    • Sorry Kathy…a small pick-up.

  8. That’s your reticular formation working over time…. filtering out all the ‘other info’ from the info you need to drive safely – normal!

    • Hi Pseu….I read the first few words and thought “what?”…then it made sense…so…I am a safe driver? Good!

  9. I’m sorry you’ve been sick. I hope you’ll soon be back to your perky self. πŸ™‚
    I don’t pay attention to other people in cars either. It’s just something I rarely think to do. πŸ™‚

    • Then we are both good drivers EC!

      • Great minds think alike. πŸ˜‰

      • Hehehe EC…let’s not finish that saying!

  10. Sorry you’ve been ill. I don’t believe you aren’t observant … you couldn’t take the photos you do if you’re weren’t observant. I’d say you are selectively unobservant (diagnosis free !!). What the heck, by the way, is a bakkie?

    • Hello Bud…a bakkie is a small pick-up.
      I think one has to be selectively unobservant…can’t clutter up the grey matter!

  11. I can’t see anyone because of the tilt of the windshield. Even tho my eyes are improving with age!

    • Morning Souldipper….are you showing off by any chance?????

  12. Somehow… I agree with you, granny (empty tummy and meds)! πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Yada…think I should wait until I have eaten something before i medicate this morning.

  13. Feel better,Granny

    • Thanks love…why no post…are you ok?


Leave a Reply

Categories

