Posted by: granny1947 | July 18, 2011

Granny goes sniff,sniff,coff,coff.

Hello All.

I have a cold.
If I were a man I would have flu.
However,so far, it is just a cold.
I feel rotten.
Just so you all know.
Think I will throw myself a pity party.
You are all invited.

I went to visit a friend in Simonstown yesterday.
She lives on the side of a mountain.
In a house.
The above is the view from her sun lounge and her office.
I would never get any work done.

This old man is one of three that live in her garden.

He is ginormous.
His poop is the same size as a large dog’s poop.
I don’t think I want one.
Actually, I can’t see the point in having a tortoise.
The don’t rush to meet you when you come home.
They don’t attack intruders.
They don’t play at being cute.
You don’t know if they dislike you intensely.
Or adore you.
I have heard they can be tasty.

Another early morning picture.
Taken yesterday.
The stunning weather continues.
Sorry Princess.

Now it is lunchtime.
Think I might just go home.
Curl up in a foetal position.
And moan gently.

Responses

  1. Never mind Granny; console yourself with the thought that we all envy you your life, with drives through the mountains to work and daily walks on the beach.

    • Hi Tilly…somehow I doubt there is a walk on the cards tonight…feeling too sorry for myself…now Jasmine can be sorry too!

  2. Oh no, please don’t let it turn into the flu that is going around! Rather see a doctor pronto!
    LISTEN TO ME!!!
    xxx

    • Hi Cindy…I refuse to go to the doctor with a cold…he will laugh at me!

      • You don’t want a doctor with a cold… he may give it to you….

      • And my cute Doc is very kind…am sure he would want to share Pseu.

  3. Oh dear – I really hope it isn’t a version of the cold that visited our family and self, brought all friends and relations, and tried to take a permanent residence permit.

    Feel free to moan ungently!

    Lovely views, and despite the downside I find tortoises fascinating creatures. They do actually give the impression of becoming quite fond of one, in time. Who knows if that is illusion or not.

    • Oh hell Col…I hope it isn’t the same strain…think this might be a Swazi cold!

  4. Oh Granny, I’m so sorry to hear you have a cold! They’re so miserable. I hope you did go home – and take tomorrow off too. I’ll write your boss a note to excuse you. πŸ˜‰

    Your friend’s place is gorgeous! Love the tortoise, but I wouldn’t want to clean up after him!

    • Hi RD…am still at work but fading fast…only one hour to go…I’ll send you the address for the note!

  5. Okay..Have no fear. Patrecia is here! I am packing my bags, will be on tonights flight. I will take care of you…

    We cannot have a Granny with sniff sniff, corf! corf!

    Get better soon dear friend

    • Yippee Patrecia…I will shake the cat hair off the spare room duvet.
      Oh…you are just teasing me.
      Sob.

  6. That tortoise certainly makes for a good ice breaker when people visit your house πŸ™‚ If you have a lot of guests then maybe it is worth the poop πŸ˜‰ Hope you feel better soon.

    • Thanks so much Yada…feel really grotty tonight!

  7. I hope you are not “under the weather” for long.

    I felt terrible yesterday.
    Much improved today.
    Hope your path to wellness has a similar trajectory. πŸ˜€

    • Is this a blogbug NR?
      Did you give it to me?

    • I would NEVER do that to you, Granny! πŸ˜€

      Besides I didn’t have a cold with sniffles. So you’ll have to look elsewhere to pin the blame. πŸ˜‰

      • OK NR…you are off the hook…I will just blame Tom…he has had a bad cold.

  8. Sorry to hear you have a cold and feeling miserable because of it granny, but don’t let scuba man catch it – you know what men are like, he’ll have the worse case of flu known to man! teehee! Then he’ll expect you to pamper him!
    Get well soon.

    • Thanks Barb….I nearly didn’t come to work today but I have so much to do…and it is JUST a cold!

  9. Simonstown – what a neat little place! Wasn’t that where we saw the penguins that are considered endangered? I read a story about a woman who has a penguin visit her daily. Think I’d take that over a turtle! πŸ™‚ Hope you beat the bug, Granny.

    • Hi Souldipper…yes Simonstown is a lovely little place…has not changed since I was a kid.
      Boulders is where you saw the penguins…I didn’t know they were endangered!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

