Posted by: granny1947 | July 11, 2011

Granny….still on holiday

Hello All.

The title is wishful thinking.
Have come back to chaos.
Sometimes it is almost not worth being away.

On day one we went to a huge dam not too far from the hotel.
Very beautiful.
There was a sign warning of crocodiles.
And hippos.
I looked and looked and looked.
Never saw any.

This was the other side of the dam.
Not nearly so pretty.
But it might interest some of the guys.

This post is becoming very difficult.
Work keeps interfering.
I have completely lost my thread of thought.

Before I go.
On the breakfast menu.
Harsh browns.
As opposed to what?
Pouched eggs.
Kangaroos lay eggs?
Who knew.

Responses

  1. remember those fat ladies next to you looking for hippos? Guess who?

    • I THOUGHT they looked familiar Sidey!~!!

  2. How cool it would have been to see a hippo! I love those menu errors – they’re so funny. 😀

    I know what you mean about coming back to work. I usually have to sift through 500 emails and waste a whole day just prioritizing. We say the same thing about it not being worth the time away – but it’s SOOO worth it while we’re away!

    • As long as they are not too close RD….very dangerous.

  3. Bwahahaha!

  4. If we did not have to go to work, we would not appreciate holidays.
    Chaos reigns but you will soon sort it out!
    The pics were great and I for one am quite pleased that you did not see crocks or hippos.They are dangerous for Grannys

    love p

    • Hehehe Patrecia…a Freudian slip…I should be scared of crocks?
      I AM one!!!!

  5. That breakfast menu sure got me giggling. The upside of the chaos you returned to is reinforcing how indispensable you are!

    Where is the dam, I de-sire to know! 🙂

    • Hi Col…it is the Maguga Dam.

  6. You didn’t see any crocs . . . but did any crocs see you?

    As a kid, I thought that hippos were friendly and happy.
    Ha!
    They are dangerous brutes!

    Sorry that chaos is once again your companion.

    • You know NR…I had a funny feeling I was being watched!!!

  7. I love your pictures, majestic and peaceful

    • Thank you so much Soul Dose…lovely to have you here.

  8. Yah, we were warned in Madikwe about those seemingly sweet, little, slow moving hippos! I was amazed to learn how long those beasties can stay under water walking on the bottom of the whatever. As for alligators – oh no, I’ll take a bear any day!

    I’m scared spitless that I’ll never have poached eggs again. They will hereafter be pouched and rude! (as in roo.)

    • Hehehe Souldipper…you are on a roll…I agree…I will always think of them as pouched eggs now.

  9. Welcome back, granny! Hope you enjoyed your trip. Odd not opening up to one of your beach and ocean pics 😉 Good luck with the catch-up; I’m sure it was well worth it falling behind just a little bit 🙂

    • Hi Yada…think I must post a beach shot today…for old times sake.

  10. Memories of your wonderful holiday will help you get through the chaos granny!

    • Am getting there….Barb…it is all about delegation!

  11. Difficult or not, I’m glad you completed this post, Granny!


Leave a Reply

Categories

