Posted by: granny1947 | July 10, 2011

Granny is BACK!!!

Hello All.

Where to start.
I missed you all.
It was just too much of a mission to blog.
I had a wonderful time.

The above picture is from the balcony of my room.
Swaziland is incredibly beautiful.
The people are unbelievable.
They are warm and friendly.
They are honest.
They have a sense of humour.
I could live there.

I was spoiled rotten.
My friend was incredbily generous.
What a woman.
I shall call herMarylou.
Because that is her name.
One of the dining room staff had lost her son and daughter in law to AIDS.
She is looking after her grandkids.
Both are HIV positive.
Four and seven years old.
They were both in hospital with pneumonia.
The next day we went off to Woolworths.
She bought them a HUGE bag of clothes.
I would have loved to have seen their faces.

We went everywhere.
We saw the glass factory.
We saw the candle factory.
We saw the rocking horse factory.

 

Let me go back to day one.
We arrived last Friday.
The hotel is about two hours from the airport.
About twenty minutes from the border.

You drive over the border and it is like being in another world.
The King has absolute power.
It appears to work.
Begging is not allowed.
Hitching is not allowed.
Kids have to be polite.
If they step out of line you are allowed to give them a whack on the bottom.(I love this law)

We stayed at the Orion Piggs Peak hotel.
Marylou goes there two or three times a year.
We were greeted with huge friendly hugs.

Yes…that is me!
We went up to our rooms.
We each had a double room.
There was a bottle of champagne and a big bag of chocolates in each room.
Marylou took hers home for her granddaughter.
I ate mine.

Now…before I bore you all to tears I will end off.

It is good to be home.

Episode two tomorrow.

Responses

  1. So glad you had a great time, I’m eager to hear about the rest. Now it’s your turn in scrabble! πŸ™‚

    • It’s good to be back Sue but I had a great time.

  2. So glad to have you back!

    What a lovely country πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Tilly….it is a stunning country.

  3. Sounds like a great trip, Granny. xxxx

  4. It is really great to have you back. It’s strange but when one buddy goes away on holiday or whatever it is like a big hole. You know that there is something missing in the structure… So Welcome home Granny.

    Swaziland looks and sounds great so we shall have lots to read about in the coming weeks.I am sure that you have taken lots of pics.

    Your friend MaryLou sounds like one wonderful lady. She will be well blessed.

    Can’t wait for the next episode!

    • Thanks Patrecia…she really is a special person!

  5. Welcome back! As a new reader/fan I missed you and your beautiful land!! Looking forward to hearing more about your trip.

    • Welcome Jan…great to have you here!

  6. Welcome back – only ever stayed in the beehive huts at Mlilwane or camped in Swaziland – but it was still awesome. Did Tom survive your absence and has Jasmine hit the ground yet?? I bet she went crazy when you got back πŸ™‚
    Look forward to hearing all about it!!

    • Hello Wolf…yes Tom survived and Jasmine went ballistic….nice to be missed!

  7. Oh…looks dreamy!! I would have ate all the chocolate too, some people have more self control than I can understand πŸ™‚ Can’t wait for part two!!!

    Oh and I really missed your posts πŸ™‚

    • I know Princess… they were there…calling to me!!!

  8. Sounds like you had a lovely trip. The hotel looks to be just my style–comfy.

    • Hi Maire…it was great….the staff made it so special.

  9. So glad you had a great time, looking forward to hearing the rest πŸ˜‰

  10. Welcome back!

    what a great view from your room πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Piglet….I took a whole heap of pics from the room….just breathtaking.

  11. Love the zebra rocking horse.
    Zebras rock!

    Glad that you ate your chocolate . . . life is uncertain, eat dessert first.

    • Hi NR…now that is a creed I can follow!

  12. It looks and sounds like a beautiful place, warm, friendly people etc. Jasmine must have missed you terribly – did she lick you to death when you got home? Has she forgiven you yet?
    Can’t wait to hear more about your great holiday granny. Missed you.

    • Thanks Barb….Jasmine went ballistic….Tom just demanded some treats!

  13. I was away too! First time in years, oh gosh it was great. I would move to the beach in a heartbeat. I’m with you, I would have eaten my chocolates also.

    • Hehehe….where did you go?

  14. This blogging world is fantastic. I get to go places without having to deal with airport security! Look forward to whatever you have to share of the trip, Granny. I missed ya!

    • Awwwwww thanks Souldipper…will be posting a little later.

  15. Good to have you back! Things have been crazy here, too and we are getting ready to leave for Maui on Tuesday. It sounds lik eyou had a wonderful time.

    • Hi bud…I had a super time…Maui…wow!!!

  16. Sounds fab. I missed you. xxx

    • Hi Cindy….everything ok?

  17. Yay! Granny’s back! Sounds like you had a fab and funky time! Photos are ace as always! And glad you had a great time!

    • Thanks Noob…it was great and I was spoiled rotten.

  18. Welcome back Granny!! I really missed you! You’re not boring me at all – keep right on chatting about your trip! I’m enjoying every second of it – it’s the only way I’ll ever get to visit Swaziland, I’m sure. Well, through you and Globe Trekker, if they ever go there…. πŸ˜‰ LOL

    There’s a special place in heaven for people like Marylou – what a kind, generous, compassionate woman she sounds like! Bless her for helping out with those poor HIV-positive kids.

    How interesting that the king has absolute power and he’s not just an outdated figurehead. I hope all his laws are that good; you know what they say about absolute power….

    I don’t blame you for eating the chocolates – a BAG and not just a little minty on the pillow?! That would get my vote!

    Glad to have you back! πŸ˜€

    • Hi RD….the chocolates went straight to my butt!!!!
      Swaziland was fabulous.
      I could live there.

  19. Welcome back, Granny!

    • Thanks Hook…it is good to be back…I think!


Leave a Reply

Categories

