Posted by: granny1947 | June 18, 2011

Granny’s Stunning Saturday

Hello All.

What a day.
One of those perfect Cape Town winter days.
Not a breath of wind.
Hardly any waves.
And,strangely, very few people.

I learned something.
Isn’t life great?
Always something new to learn.
I was wearing my sunglasses.
Like a good Granny.
Turned on my camera.
Peered through the viewfinder.
Nothing.
Said shyte.
Looked again.
Still nothing.
Took off the sunglasses.
Everything was where it should be.
So…I learned that I cannot do any photography while wearing glasses.

I was down on the beach early.
Granddaughter is staying with me.
She had to be dropped at a friend.
There is a birthday party tonight.
On the way home I went to the friendly mall near us.
Bought some granny thingies to hang my sunglasses on.
So they can bounce on my ample bosum.
Along with the camera.

I came home all prepared to wash down the kitchen floor.
It is filthy.
I was just about to start when my phone went.
My little Malawian guy.
He has no food.
Being a good kind granny I said he can work tomorrow.
I am sure the floor can wait one more day.
Talk about being saved by the bell!

As I got home I caught sight of this fellow just opposite the gates.
Damn this new eye is good.
I don’t know what he is but I am sure someone is going to tell me.


Now I am going off to my bed to read.
Perchance to sleep.
Later I must paint my nails.
Fingers and toes.
You never know who you are going to meet on Monday.
Preferably someone who hasn’t had the eye op yet!

Responses

  1. Looks like a grey heron, I think
    http://www.birdwatchireland.ie/IrelandsBirds/GreyHeron/tabid/148/Default.aspx

    • Hi Pseu…think it is the black neck Heron…they look pretty alike though.

      • what’s a bit of black or grey between friends? 🙂

      • Hehehe Pseu…I agree.

  2. Is it a bird?…….yes!

    • Damn Sue…you are observant…had cataract surgery lately?

  3. sounds like a great day.

    it’s a white necked grey bird

    • Hehehe Sidey…well done!

  4. After careful consideration I think I agree with Pseu: grey heron… Clever idea about the glasses on a string 🙂 I really hope all goes well on Monday, granny.

    • Thanks Yada…I looke dit up in our bird book…think it is a black neck Heron.

  5. Happy Saturday Granny!!

  6. A good start to the weekend granny!

    • It has been a very pleasant weekend Barb…and it is not over yet!

  7. It was indeed a glorious day. I see the forecast says high wind and rain for about a week starting soooon. So glad the new eye is good. After Monday both will be good! Shout if you need help luv. I would say the bird is a heron. They love chomping on pet fish in ponds 🙂 Hugs and will be thinking of you and praying for another successful operation on Monday granny. Luv you xx

    • Thanks Colleen…love you too!

  8. It’s a heron. 😀
    (I’ll leave it to you to conclude whether it’s a gray or black neck heron.)

    Here we have Great Blue Herons, Green Herons, Night Herons, etc.
    Gorgeous birds.

    Glad you and your ample bosom are enjoying your weekend and that someone else shall have the pleasure of mopping your floor.

    • He is busy with the floor as we speak NR!

  9. Would you like me to phone your employees while you are having that little affair with the handsome doctor? I could leave a message for you: “Just confirming the surveillance cameras all work 100%”

    • Hehehe Souldipper…go for it!

  10. Don’t forget the lipstick.
    That is not a chicken. xxx

    • Hi Cindy…no make-up and red lipstick?
      don’t think so!

  11. I wish a little Malawian guy would appear at my door every time I had to wash a floor or scrub a bathroom….


Leave a Reply

Categories

