Posted by: granny1947 | June 10, 2011

Granny and the eye guy

Hello All.
I got home latish last evening so we went down to the rocks.
What a sunset.
I thought it was going to be cold so I dressed for the South Pole.
It wasn’t.
Today is a stunning day.
When the weather is good in Cape Town, in the winter, it is brilliant.

So I tootled off to the eye guy yesterday.
Quite a nice chap.
Though he didn’t quite get my sense of humour.
He has nice ears.
I noticed because I had to stare at them for long periods of time.

It turns out I have cataracts in BOTH eyes.
This Granny does not do things by halves.
I have the first op on Monday.
I have the second one the following Monday.
Provided I like what he does the first time around.

He gave me a big thick brochure to read through.
Right at the end it mentions(almost in passing) a few of the things that could go wrong.
Hmmmmmmmm
I would rather not have known.
Ignorance is bliss and all that.

I have a couple of questions for him.
Like…has anyone ever sneezed very hard and blown a lens out?
Like…has HE ever sneezed in the middle of blasting the old lens?
Think about it folks.
He sneezes and his hand jerks.
I lose a bit of my ear.
Worse…a bit of my brain…I don’t have any of that to spare.
I do have TWO ears but if I lost one ,wearing glasses could be a problem.

He is one of those doctors who give you a running commentary while they are working.
I,actually, don’t want to know.
The one thing I DON’T want to hear is…Uh Oh.
That will freak me out.
Oh shit would be even worse.

Another picture.
Because it is my blog.
And I can.


Oh what the hell.
One more.
Just for luck.

Oh yes…I nearly forgot.
Mex has deviated from mosaic mirrors and has done a few vases.
I think they are rather good.
Honest opinions would be appreciated.

Responses

  1. Dang Granny……….Mex is good! I love the vases! I LOVE the extra photos as well! Love, Me http://www.youaretalkingtoomuch.com

  2. The mosaic vases are lovely. I love doing mosaics. Hope your operation goes well on Monday. I have to see the eye doctor in two weeks. I don’t relish it.

  3. Good morning! The beach photos are stunning, love them. You make me snort and giggle over your thoughts about cataract surgery. Only you! The vases are gorgeous. Is Mex a craftsman or artist? Have a good weekend and hope all goes well on Monday.

  4. Are you awake when he does you eyes??? Give him some anti hystamine and tell him to take it well before he comes near you. God man, what if he’s a hayfever sufferer and is allergic to your perfume or something!!!
    (The vases are excellent!)

    • yep…awake…I will be cracking jokes…maybe not…want to make sure his hand is steady!

  5. *hides two cases of Merlot behind the calendar* Just be sure to follow all the post op Must Do’s!! Don’t skip drops or stuff!

    Pics are stunning xxxx

    • Two CASES????
      They won’t need to deaden anything!

  6. Huh? I posted a comment and now it’s missing!

    Testing … testing … 1 … 2 …. 3!

    • Hehe Justme…you came on with a different name and I had to approve you.

  7. They’re gorgeous!

    I hope you’re not driving with those cataracts? We can’t afford to lose you 😦

    • Of course I am driving Tilly…only found out I had them on Wednesday…my boss says he will be avoiding my car for a while!

  8. I know quite a few people who have had cataracts removed and it seems to be getting more and more common. No complications reported from any of them. Good luck, Gran.

    re Mex’s vases : three little ladies in a row πŸ™‚ Very cute!

    • Hi Adee…thanks love…I will tell him!

  9. Vases are very good! As a preference I’d choose the right hand one. One thing you never want to hear is Uh-oh. I think that’s possibly the worst word in the English language. Ace photos!

    • Hi Noob…yep that is something I do NOT want to hear.

  10. Mex has done a good job on the vases..must have taken him ages to do!

    sorry about your eyes,still it’s better to get them sorted . I do not think that it is a long procedure and nowadays perfectly safe.

    we shall all be thinking of you

    love P

    • Thank you Patrecia…I am sure I am going to see things differently now…maybe we haven’t been having all the mist!!!

  11. HAHAHAHA!! Only you can make upcoming cataract surgery FUNNY! πŸ˜€ I’m sure it’ll go fine (I say this from the safety and comfort of my laser-free and needle-free home LOL!) – my mother had it last year and no one sneezed during the operation. πŸ˜‰ Seriously, she said the first one made her much less stressed about getting the second one done, and she never realized how much better she’d be able to see. Except for the fact that she saw lots of wrinkles she didn’t know she had….. LOL!

    The vases are GORGEOUS! Mex is one talented guy.

    Your pictures are stunning!

    • Hey RD…Needles?????
      There are going to be needles?????

  12. Pics are gorgeous – as ever. Vases stunning. Holding thumbs for Monday.

    • Hello Wolf…so lovely to see you here…I have missed you!

  13. Love the sunset pic, and your hubbies vases are amazing, he does good work πŸ™‚ Good luck on Monday, it will all be fine πŸ™‚ xox

    • hi princess…am not really worried. πŸ™‚

  14. The vases are gorgeous!

    Good luck with the cataract surgery. My dad had both eyes done with no complications . . .

    Achoo! πŸ˜€

  15. the ops a week apart is standard practice. i have 2 friends who have just had it done, and both highly successful. no problems. so good luck with yours, may it be just the same for you

    • Thank you Sidey…you will all hear all about it!!!

  16. Interested to know more about the cases, please. What base are they done onot, for example?

    Cataract ops are usually straight forward… but they have to tell you the bits that could go wrong, just to cover themselves. Invest in good sunglasses afterwards to cope with the bighter ight πŸ™‚

    • Hello Pseu…thank you for the visit.
      Uhm…you have lost me a little…which cases?
      From what what I gather the cataract ops are simple procedures….hope so.
      On the upside I get a day off work!

      • should have been vases, Not cases! The lettersare very close on a netbook QWERTY keyboard!

        I’m just interested to know what the vases are made of, under the mosaic?

      • Hi Pseu…they are made of ceramic pottery. the insides are glazed but the outsides aren’t so you can stick the glass on.
        He has done some stunning mirrors too…I must put on some photos of them too.

  17. ‘brighter light’

    • thank you

      • My pleasure Pseu.

  18. Quality work on those vases, Granny! Now about your eyes…everyone who has had the surgery done in the last 20 years have said it is totally simple and easy. I just remember my mother yelling threats at my father who wanted to jimmy the squeeze bottle for the drops he was to apply for her. Damn fixers of the world…

    Grrrrreat shots – of the sunset on the ocean especially!

    • Thanks Souldipper….I should have something to write about when I get home tomorrow…if I can see the computer!

  19. Granny…..it was sweet to hear my hubby….who now gets your posts mentioning that you need to be in our thoughts and prayers tomorrow for your surgery. You will be……
    Love, Me

    • Thank you so much Toomuch!

  20. Love that second pic, by now you’ve had the one operation already and those vases look like they are tastefully done – neat! I don’t really have anywhere where i could use one, but if I had to have one it would be in a rusty red colour (not brown and not lollipop red – kind of brick) and just one colour.

    • Hi Yada…thanks for the vase comment…you have given Mex something to think about.

  21. That was funny! I would rather not hear also.

  22. The vases are great. I started a border in my bath room and the vanity doors. Hmmm didn’t finish the grouting. Yes I have cut myself a few times because of that.

    • Thanks Linda…he is very talented.


Leave a Reply

Categories

