Posted by: granny1947 | May 31, 2011

Granny’s sodden Sunday

Hello All.

Eeeeeeeek.

This is my fourth attempt to do a post.
I have been a bad blogging Granny.
This is the longest I have gone without blogging since I began blogging.
I think is has been five days.
Gasp.

In my defence work has been hectic.
One problem after the other.
I seem to be constantly on the go.
Then the weather has been dreadful.
And no…I am not complaining…I love the cape stormy weather.
It has just added a new level of stress.
I drove home in some of the hardest rain I have experienced in many a year.
Quite exciting.

On the way TO work yesterday my passenger side windscreen wiper started making a strange noise.
Being an optimist I thought it might just be a leaf.
It was pitch dark so I could make out too much.
Then, near the top of the mountain the wiper appeared to separate into several pieces.
Kept me fascinated for kilometres.
So, I spent lunchtime yesterday having new wiper blades fitted and all of lunchtime today having my brake lights repaired.
Well, not MY brake lights.
MY brake lights went out years ago.

Why haven’t I blogged?
I think I lost my Mojo.
Do grannies have mojo?
The fact that it it was really cold and I spent most of the weekend huddled under the duvet , didn’t help to inspire me.
My internet connection was very slow so reading blogs just felt like too much effort.

In other news my aunt passed away on Sunday.
She was diagnosed with a melonoma(I KNOW that spelling is wrong) on the brain a few weeks ago.
Apparently those little suckers are worse than tumours.
Anyway, she had her first radiation on Friday.
Came home feeling fine.
Went into a coma and died two days later.
Man…how lucky can you get?
No time to panic.
No time to think Oh Shyte.
Just go to sleep and bingo.

The ironic thing is she was a health freak.
They only ate healthy food.
She never smoked.
She never drank.
Was it frigging worth it?
For crying in a bucket.
THE WOMAN DIED HEALTHY!!!!

Oh dear…I suddenly have lots to say and it is time to pack up.

Mwah

Responses

  1. So sorry to hear about your aunt, Granny. The way she died was definitely a blessing for her, but it’s always so hard on the family to lose someone so suddenly.

    Isn’t it so strange when people who eat and live healthy die prematurely. I think it’s out of our hands for the most part, though – with all the chemicals in our foods, the pollutants in the water, air, and soil, all the crap they bombard us with every day, it’s amazing to me that we live as long as we do.

    Well, I certainly managed to bring things down a bit! Sorry about that. I missed your posts over the last week! Glad to see you’re back. 🙂

    • hehehe RD…you didn’t bring me down at all.

  2. Hi there from Mud Island, sad that your aunt died, but it does make you think *rushes off to pour a glass of wine*

    • Hi There Supa…are you having fun?

  3. Sorry about your aunt, Love.
    Glad you’re back, I think work is hectic for a lot of us at the moment.
    Off to toast your aunt, it’s Merlot weather here, xxx

    • Hi Cindy…it is sherry weather down here!

  4. Yes, sorry to hear about your aunt. Dying healthy is a blessing indeed, I think. Hope the rest of the week simmers down some to a relaxing/fun weekend 🙂

    • Thanks yada…today has been somewhat better!

  5. Sympathy, losing a family member is never easy. One can be glad for her at its suddenness, less pain and panic, but it adds shock to the family.

    How’s my darling Jasmine?

    • Hi Sidey…your darling Jasmine is sadly walk deprived.

  6. So sorry to hear that. Hope you have a good week otherwise.

    • Thanks Linda…I had a really lazy weekend.

  7. My sympathy to you on losing your aunt. My brother-in-law’s death was just like that. I’ve missed your posts. Glad you’re back.

    • Thanks maire…it is good to be back!

  8. […] Related post:  Granny’s Sodden Sunday  . . . The Irony of Dying Healthy […]

  9. You’re so right, Granny. Not a bad way to go . . .
    Here today, gone tomorrow.
    Think of all her wasted effort to be a health freak.

    I met a health freak last night.
    She wanted to make everyone else look lazy for not being overly zealous.
    I think I’ll print out your post and give it to her.

    Balance and moderation in ALL things.

    • Hi NR…your health freak sounds really nasty!!!

    • She was the most unpleasant person I’ve met in ages. Just ghastly.

      Here’s to making the most of the moment!

  10. Dear Granny, so sorry to hear about your aunt.

    I know what you mean about not wanting to blog on cold days; your whole system feels sluggish, not just the internet.

    We’ve missed you.

    Feel better soon.

    xx

    • Hi Tilly….I am certainly sluggish..think it is the lack of exercise.

  11. We’ve missed you granny, nice to see you back. Sorry to hear about your aunt; it could have been a blessing she went so quickly rather than endure months of radiation, etc.

    • Thanks Barb….I haven’t seen her for over 20 years and we were never close so I am fine.

  12. Sorry about your aunt Granny, I sure missed you, glad you are back 🙂

    • Thanks Princess….just don’t know where the days went!

  13. Many condolences. It just boggles the mind that you can go through life,do everything right, all to no avail in the end. Some do everything wrong and live to see a hundred. Makes you wonder if the doctors forgot that sometimes, bad stuff just happens, be it age or genetics or a careening bus. Hubby had an appt with a urologist yesterday…and first thing out of the guy’s mouth was a lecture on how 95% of doctors visits are caused by smoking. And as hubby said, as soon as THAT part of his anatomy starts smoking, he’ll accept that lecture.
    I’m glad you’re back, you were missed 🙂

    • Thanks Morgue…when that part starts to smoke…you crack me up with your sense of humour.

  14. No matter the circumstances, having an aunt die is hitting *home*! I live healthy, Granny, ’cause I figure if I have to hang around this terra firma, I want to be as disease free as possible. I’ll be a horrid patient for anyone, I suspect, because I don’t really know how to do “sick”.

    I was delighted to see I wasn’t behind on 7 of your blogs. Thanks for taking a break!

    • Hmmmmmm…thanks for taking a break? Am not sure how to take that. 🙂

  15. Granny, you are too….funny! lol

    • Good Afternoon Clarbojahn…glad you enjoyed but now you have me curious…can’t remember what I wrote!


Leave a Reply

Categories

