Posted by: granny1947 | May 24, 2011

Granny Monkey’s around

Hello All.

A few pics just for Morgue and the Spookster.

I stopped to take these on the way home.
The baboons seem to cross the road every evening near a local bakery.
I am guessing they get fed some scraps.
They also dice with death as the traffic is very heavy at that time.

This one was heading straight for my car.
At a rate of knots.
I closed the window.
Brave I am not.

Before I went home I went down to look at the bay.

A bit dark but proof that winter has arrived in the Cape.
Jasmine didn’t get to go for a walk.
Even though she asked really nicely.
Think she will be out of luck tonight too.

Justice Minister Jeff Radebe says he is of the “firm view” that Judge Nkola Motata should remain on special leave with full pay until the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) has concluded its investigation into allegations of gross misconduct levelled against him, even though the judge has now been booked off for four years.

Motata, found guilty in 2009 by the Johannesburg Magistrate’s Court of driving under the influence, has been on special leave with full pay since May 2007. In 2006 a judge earned about R60 000 a month.

Name another country in the world where this would happen.
Only in Africa.

Responses

  1. I think they feed out of the bins at the back of the bakery? No comment on the judge 😦 Love you xxx

    • I get SO mad when I see them getting away with that sort of thing…In a first world country he would have resigned…there is no shame here!

  2. You are brave to ahve your windows open with the baboons!
    Funny to think of you now going into winter and we are just starting our summer 🙂

    • hi Piglet…Fortunately our winters are not TOO hectic and I enjoy them.

  3. The States have a few politicians running around loose collecting salaries whilst doing nothing. The ex-water commissioner of a local water district is suing for being fired because the board found he had been indicted for fraud in his last job. His logic, that was the last job, I havent defrauded the people enough here yet. No wonder that water board is a disaster.

    • If that commissioner lived here he would qualify for state president,Maire!

  4. Wow. You’re right – only in Africa.

    I wouldn’t be brave around baboons either! I wonder if some people are feeding them from their cars? Crazy! I think I prefer our deer and geese in the road over baboons – I love looking at the pictures, but I wouldn’t want to be confronted by one!

    I still can’t wrap my head around winter in July! 😀

    • Hi RD…it was idiots who fed them from their cars that started all the problems with baboons.
      We have deer on the mountain but I have only seen one once in the five years I have been travelling this way.

  5. Cool shots but someone should encourage them to play farther away from traffic.

    I would love to have a chance to review cases like that . . . and cut off salaries where appropriate. How fulfilling it would be.

    • The are enough cases to keep you busy for the rest of your life NR….this is the norm over here…very frustrating.

  6. There ya go, Granny! Get the Justice Minister to hire Nancy for a clean-up! Better that foreigner do it.

    • I’ll speak to them immediately Souldipper.

  7. I think if the commission can’t get it sorted, they should be paying him out of their own pockets, that would speed things up.

    that buddy-buddy system in which huge amounts of tax money is wasted on wastrels like him is really one of the main reasons the anc lost so many votes (at last)

    • I agree Sidey…about time the people saw the light.

  8. Thank you for thinking of us again! I love those baboons,they are so ugly they’re cute. And say what you will, they can’t possibly behave worse than some people I have met! Those baboons make me smile.

    • I am so glad morgue…my job is done. 🙂

  9. Imagine reading about these cases occurring in the UK or USA – it would never be tolerated! And we like to think we are ALMOST a third world country – haha!

    • There is no pride here Adee…over there they would resign immediately.


Leave a Reply

Categories

