Posted by: granny1947 | April 24, 2011

Granny and day three…brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Hello All.

The photo is a yesterday one.
It has been raining all day.
I am one happy Granny.
Lovely soaking rain.
It is also freezing.
But I am not complaining.
After all my bitching about the heat I wouldn’t dare!

I go onto an overseas website to check our weather.
Crazy to say I go onto a Swedish(I think)website to get an hourly forecast for our village.
They keep giving an M/S measurement.
Anyone got any idea what that means?
At first I thought it was metre swells.
But now I don’t think so.
If it IS we are in for ten metre swells on Tuesday.
Oh boy…wouldn’t that be exciting.
I would be down there snapping away.
Or I might just load Tom and Jasmine in the car and head higher up the mountain!

Tonight should be soup night.
We are having toasted sandwiches.
Thought you might like to know that.
Tomorrow night we are going out for supper.
Wonder when I am going to cook the cauliflower I bought this morning?

Be happy you lot.

Responses

  1. i had soup for lunch, lovely veggie and lentil soup, and now there is a sole and mushrooms awaiting my attention 😉

    • Am not talking to you Sidey…a scrabble with your last seven letters…I don’t think that is allowed!

  2. Coo! I am first…. wow!
    Great picture Mrs , I am happy that you are enjoying the rain.

    I will try to find out what M/S is!

    lots o love P

    • Thanks P….I am now very curious.

  3. Prepare it and freeze it; it will stay fresher. Or make cauliflower soup.

    • Hmmmmm Tilly…might just cook it tomorrow…then it is done for Tuesday…thanks.

  4. Mmmmmm…only Tom and Jasmine get to go with you to higher ground? poor Mex! 🙂

    • Hi Sue…he has his own car…wouldn’t get in mine anyway…too much doghair and sand!

  5. Lovely photo of the beach. I love soup and sandwhich nights. Takes lots of heat out of the kitchen duty ! 🙂

    • I agree Penny…I am always for the easy way out!

  6. Cream of Cauliflower Soup to accompany your toasted sandwiches?

    • Too late NR…toasted sarmies are history…cauliflower still in the fridge.

  7. Stay warm and dry. We are having the most perfect lovely warm Easter weather.

    • Hi Linda…today was perfect snuggle up in bed weather but I haven’t had a chance.

  8. Another beautiful photo, Granny. And cauliflower soup would go lovely with the toasted sandwiches.

  9. You wanted cooler weather – now you got it – enjoy!
    Easy night in the kitchen then – I love toasted sandwiches!

    • Me too Barb…especially when Mex prepares them and I just have to cook them!

  10. Hey, Granny, I suspect you are being given a measurement of the ions in the atmosphere that can deflect atoms (atomic energy?). If that is what the weather site is giving, the M/S measurement is Mass Spectrometry.

    I don’t have a clue what is standard, good, bad or wonderful!! But that may help you snoop the internet.

    Ever mashed cauliflower? It’s super simple, but is delish!
    4 cups cauliflower
    Butter
    1 oz of Half & Half milk (i.e. 1/2 cream, 1/2 milk)
    Salt and Pepper
    After steaming the florets, puree and add the other ingredients. Yum.

    Cin would probably have some great idea for even making it better.

    • I don’t understand any of that Souldipper….I am talking about the weather!
      We bought some nice fish today so I am going to make that tomorrow with cauli and white sauce…covered in crumbs and baked…yum yum.

  11. It was a chilly and rainy Easter Day here in Socal. I believe that m/s is metres/second wind speed. Google weather m/s/ measurement.

    Bud

    • Yes, I’m a techie geek.

    • Good grief…you reckon Bud? I still think it is something to do with swells…that is easier on my brain!

  12. Hi Granny I bet you use the same website as we do…it’s usually pretty accurate.
    Strange old World. When we have rain I want sun, when we have weeks of sun I want rain so I don’t have to pay to water the garden. Of course it rained over Easter 😦
    Hope you had a good Easter 🙂

    • Hi Pip…The wet weather is still a novelty here…we really needed it.

  13. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MY LOVELY SPECIAL FRIEND XXX

    • Awwwwwww Thank you Cindy!

  14. Nice shot – it does look cold, though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

