Posted by: granny1947 | April 16, 2011

Granny and the grim reaper

ย 

Hello All.

My subject,today, is death.
And a lesson to be learned from small kids.

Mex’s elder son and his daughter are in Cape Town.
They flew down to join his wife for a short break.
She was down here for business.
However,she got a call on Thursday, to say her stepdad was very ill so she had to fly out before they even arrived.
Her Dad passed away in the early hours of this morning.

The daughter is seven years old.
Mex’s son broke the news to her this morning.
She burst into tears saying ” but that grandpa is the one who gives me sweets”
This little lady knows her priorities.
After a while she said “now I only have one grandpa”

We went through to have coffee with them at nine this morning.
She greeted Mex with a huge hug.
She is hedging her bets.
She also gave me a big hug.
It was the first time she had met me.
Maybe I am just huggable.

Anyway, my point is this.
She was running around playing and laughing.
Her grief period was short and sweet.
Why can’t we all be like that?

Mex is going to have to step up his act.
He is uncomfortable around young kids.
Never knows what to say to them.
I am going to have to train him to buy her little treats.
Obviously, that is what grandparents are all about.

My stepson is staying with friends.
Down the road from a famous Cape Town watering hole.
Forries.
What a beautiful old house.
I fell in love with it.
The photo is taken from their deck.
And you all know how I love the mountains.

I was intrigued with their staircase.

I went down it.
Because I am a nosey cow.
You can’t get drunk and disorderly in that house.
I went up and down like a crab.
High on something.

In other news my beloved grandson came and cut my grass for me.
In return I cut his hair for him.
One good turn deserves another.
However, he would only let me cut the back.
He didn’t trust me to cut the front or his fringe.
Said he would do that himself.
It should be interesting.

No other news so I will gird my loins and start supper.
Cindy…where are you when I need you?

Responses

  1. That is so sad to hear about ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I don’t grieve that quick. Sometimes it makes me feel weak. But that is one awesome stair case. I like the pic very much.

    • Thanks Liane…had to take a few shots to get it right but I thought it was worth sharing.

  2. Sorry Cindy was out breakfasting with us all day ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Damn I am so jealous Sidey!

  3. splendid bit of writing there Granny and such a gorgeous picture..you do live in such a beautiful country.
    I have a cousin who has been over there for 50 years so she is now a native of SA. She would never leave even if she was given the opportunity.

    sorry to hear about grandpa, but we all gotta go one day!
    thank you for your kind comments on my blog..bless your heart!

    love P

    • Thank you Patrecia…so…when are you coming over to visit?????
      Love,
      Me.

  4. Whoa! I’m glad I wasn’t on those stairs. There is no doubt that at “our age” (yes, I know you’re younger ๐Ÿ™‚ ) every hiccup seems more serious. But I feel OK and I’ve checked with my doctor. That’s all I can do. Oh, yeah, and skip the skydiving this week.

    • Hehehe Bud…deinitely skip the sky diving….rather go for a bungee jump!

  5. Shame, sorry about the little girl’s grandpa, hope MEX steps up to the plate.
    Wasn’t up to making supper, sorry, as Sidey says, I was a bit full …
    love you xxx

    • Hi Cindy….I don’t want to hear about it…am still jealous.

  6. Sorry to hear about grandpa. It never ceases to amaze me how kids accept things so quickly – this little girl is already working out how she is going to get her sweets! Mex is going to have to pull his socks up!
    The staircase is awesome (but not so after a few vinos!)

    • Hi Barb…the staircase was scary and I was stone cold sober!

  7. Sounds like a difficult time for you.
    It’s funny the little things children remember about people. My kids still remember the lovely Sunday Teas Mr piglets Mum prepared, with Jelly, cake, dainty sandwiches and coke!
    Don’t fancy that staircase…I would be wriggling down them stairs on my posterier
    PiP ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hehehe Pipglet…that is pretty much what I did!

  8. To vision life as a child-is the best way. A child knows no pain as an adult-no worries as an adult-no fears as an adult. To have “Faith” like a child- Vision a world like a child. Is having faith of the size of mountains.

    • So true Penny…anything is possible.

  9. That child has the right idea ~ feel the sadness, let it out, and let it go. Some people hang on to sadness far too long.

    • I agree NR….the innocence of kids…no fear at that age.

  10. Sounds like you had a welcome bit of airing, Granny. You’ve got Jasmine to thank for your ability to race up and down those steps.

    • Uh…Souldipper…there was no racing…more like a geriatric shuffle!

  11. I’m so sorry to hear of your step-granddaughter’s loss. You’re right about young children’s resilience, and I also wish that was one trait that didn’t fade away as we grow older. Grief can be so unbearable.

    Anyway, there’s no doubt in my mind that she found you quite huggable! ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m sure Mex will step up now and show her that she still has a grandpa in her life.

    • Hi RD…I must say…SHE was gorgeous!

  12. Great title!

    • My Word Hook…you have been playing catch up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

