Posted by: granny1947 | April 11, 2011

Granny’s manic Monday

Hello All.

What a way to start a new week.
I do hope it is not a sign for the rest of the week.
I left for work 15 minutes early.
Thought I would face the week head on.
The trip that,normally, takes me about twenty minutes took an hour and 15 minutes.
There was a three car pile up on the top of the mountain.
Three very badly damaged and expensive cars.

The accident slowed the traffic but that wasn’t the reason for the horrendous build up.
The green arrow on the the traffic lights at the bottome of the mountain wasn’t working.
One little green arrow can cause a twenty km back up.

I whiled away the time by snapping away with my camera.

I listened to the radio.
I put on my lipstick(yes,red Cindy)
I brushed my hair.
I phoned Mex.
I contemplated getting out of the car and directing the traffic myself.
Not a traffic cop in sight.
I got to work half an hour late.
Completely messed up my morning routine.
Mental note….keep a book in the car for emergencies.

Shall I put on another pic?
what the hell.
I have so many of them today.

Whatever you lot are doing…Have fun!

Responses

  1. Loved the pics, Granny. Hope your day gets better.

    • Hi Maire…the rest of the day has been pretty humdrum.

  2. You are a very clever Granny,anybody else would have just sat in the car fuming but you DID things. Nit just the makeup and the hair, but you actually took some very splendid photographs. They are spectacular, but then you do live in a spectacular country.#
    I went for my usual monthly pedicure only to discover that the girl was no longer working there and nobody had told me, so now I have to go in search of another pedi person.
    Do hope that your day improved
    love P

  3. You are a very clever Granny,anybody else would have just sat in the car fuming but you DID things. Not just the makeup and the hair, but you actually took some very splendid photographs. They are spectacular, but then you do live in a spectacular country.#
    I went for my usual monthly pedicure only to discover that the girl was no longer working there and nobody had told me, so now I have to go in search of another pedi person.
    Do hope that your day improved
    love P

    • Hi Patrecia…I can be very patient..some times…can’t tolerate fools though…zero patience then.

  4. What’s all that smoke in the top picture?
    Love you
    xxx

    • Don’t know…think it is too close to be Wynberg Park.

  5. I’m wondering the same thing as Cindy – what’s all that smoke coming from? Hopefully no more woods near you have caught fire. Great photos – I almost feel like I was there!

  6. What a good idea, I’m going to put a book in my dashboard now.

    • Hi Supa…didn’t think you had traffic problems in sleepy hollow?

  7. Good for you – you looked for the silver lining 🙂 Your week starting this way, I’d say it can only get better 🙂 Have a great one! (What’s half an hour between friends? 🙂 )

    • Hi Yada…half an hour between friends is nothing…my boss might think differently.
      Two of my staff also come over the mountain…one phoned me to say he was going to be late…I said..me too!

  8. that was some pile up, no surely they did not come tumbling down and exploded!
    The week can only get better, have a good one.

    • Hi Napier…no…the fire is way down below…have no idea what was on fire…just thought it looked good.

  9. You’re right – what a start to the week! I hate wasting time sitting in traffic. What happened to the thousands of traffic cops who were trained? I can’t tell you the day I last saw one…

  10. i hate it when traffic is so badly affected and the PTB’s dont do anything about it

    • Me too…they were probably still having their coffee!

  11. Granny went over the mountain
    To see what she could see . . .

    Glad you weren’t in the 3 car pile-up. That would have been an even worse start to your week.

  12. The plume of smoke in the picture…were the cars on fire?

    • No Piglet….the fire was way down in the valley…I just thought it made a good picture.

  13. Good reason to always have a full tank of gas!

    • Hi Linda….I was in neutral for a lot of the time and just coasted down the mountain.

    • Linda…why can’t I get onto your site? Very frustrating.

  14. Great photos. Did you discover the cause of the fire?

    • No Tilly but there was still a bit of smoke today so it might be a controlled fire.

  15. Great photos, I keep magazines in the car, just for that reason-we never know when we get behind the wheel-what we will experience. Getting ready to make a trip to West Virginia soon to visit my brother-maybe I can get a few good pictures to post-love the mountains-but nor as much as the beach- !! I also hate to run late-it messes up your whole day-but keeping a sense of humor-helps make the day.

    • When i lose my sense of humour,Penny, just shoot me.

  16. Great snapping, Granny. Love the views – especially the sky in the third photo. I agree, it pays to have form of entertainment stashed in the car. If all else fails, I have a Sudoko puzzle book that I bought, incidentally, in the Cape Town airport. It’s full of tough ones so it’s lasting a long time.

    • I have never really tried Sudoko..doesn’t grab me…love cryptic crosswords.

  17. In spite of everything, you used the time positively, I like that! Great pics btw.

    • Hi Barb…thank you…no hold up today…plain sailing.

  18. Sudoku! That’s what I do in heavy traffic, airports, restaurant or waiting for a meeting. Its either that – or taking my BB gun with and shooting people!
    Of course you could also learn to blog from your cell phone so that we can get more posts out of you…. *hopeful look*

    • Don’t be silly Frog…I don’t even send an sms on my phone.
      Can I borrow that bb gun for work?

      • *gasp*

  19. Great pics! And the text rocked too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

