Posted by: granny1947 | April 5, 2011

Granny forgot

Hello All.

So it was a friend’s birthday on the 3rd.
And I forgot.
She NEVER forgets mine.
Which makes it worse.

My mind is all over the place.
Which is extremely uncomfortable.
When you get to my age a stable mind is rather important.
I am battling to stay focussed on work.
Come to think of it…I have to try to remember to breathe.

I WILL get there.
I always do.
Right now I just feel like curling up in the foetal position.
And sighing deeply.

When I win the lottery I shall have a nervous breakdown.
Just a little one.
To see what it is like.

I knew I shouldn’t have blogged.
Nothing interesting to say.
Except I love you all.

Responses

  1. nervous breakdown are way over-rated. don’t waste your time.

    speaking from experience

    • Damn Sidey…ok…don’t think I am breakdown material anyway…would end up laughing at myself.

  2. I used to have a friend whose birthday is on the 8th March. For some reason I kept thinking it was the 8th May. Year after year I was two months late. I understand how you feel :/

    • Hi Liane…April is a bad month for me…must just not forget my eldest grandson is turning 19 on the 10th.

      • Make a note in your electronic calender that sends you an e-mail or pop up reminder. Or a reminder on your phone, whichever one you tend to more often. How’s that?

      • Hi Liane…I have most birthdays in my phone…don’t know how I slipped on this one!

  3. It wasn’t deliberate. I’m sure you apologised. If she’s a friend she’ll forgive you.

    Now go out and buy a perpetual calendar and put all important dates on it and remember to turn it over each month.

    πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tilly….I usually have birthdays on my cellphone but I don’t know what happened to hers.

  4. I’m sure she will forgive you Granny. πŸ™‚

    • hI pip…WHY DID i HAVE TO APPROVE YOU AGAIN?
      Why have I got the damn caplocks on?

  5. It wasn’t my birthday, so I don’t give a sh*t! πŸ™‚

    • Oh Supa….trust you to make me smile!!!

  6. I’m sure your friend understands that you’re going through some difficulties right now, Gran, and won’t hold that one-time oversight against you. I hate that you’re going through this, I’ve been there and nothing’s worse, but you will come out the other side again.

    I’m glad you blogged. At least we know you’re hanging in there. Hugs to you!

    • Hi RD…no…this friend does not know about my problem and I don’t want to discuss it with her so will just have to blame it on old age.

  7. I forgot my best friend’s husband’s birthday last month and realized too late. My mind was full of other stuff – it happens. He forgave me!
    Chin up Granny – remember, we love you too!

    • Morning Barb…I draw the line at remembering the husbands of my friends…also anniversaries…never remember my kids wedding anniversaries…hell that is something THEY must remember…it is their fault I have so many grandkids to remember.

  8. I forgot a stepchild’s birthday last month and then sent her brother’s birthday card out late this month. It’s just part of our aging process. Forgive yourself. We love you.

    • Good Morning Maire…I nearly forgot my younger son’s birthday this year…would never have lived that one down.

  9. You just wait till you get to 72 my age. Then you cannot remember names of places, and what you did yesterday.Sometimes even the days of the week are a blur.You cannot reach the floor and if you do get down to the floor , you cannot get up unless there is a handy item of furniture available.
    Life ain’t so bad Granny, I have my family but they are 3000 miles away so I don’t see them often.
    You just hang on in there girl, so what if you forget a birthday or two, it’s nit the end of the world
    Have a fun day!
    Love Patrecia

    • Hello Patrecia…thanks so much for the visit.
      You have given me SO much to look forward to. πŸ™‚

  10. And you are loved…….love,me
    http://Www.youaretalkingtoomuch.com

    • Thanks so much Too much.
      For some reason you went into my spam box!!!

  11. Forgetting birthdays gives you a chance to send Belated Birthday Wishes ~ they’re already back in the ho-hum daily grind and then YOUR card arrives. πŸ˜€

    • I like the way you think NR!

  12. granny

    Never stop writing your blogs, you have a gift-and you need to use it. Your humor is superb, you have given me some laughs and brought a smile to my face. πŸ™‚
    Your photos are beautiful-as I love the sea-and looking at your photos-puts me there just for a few mintues !!

    • thanks so much Penny….the sense of humour will return soon.

  13. I forget everyone’s birthdays. Don’t sweat it.
    Love you.
    xxx

    • Morning Cindy…will have to phone her today and eat humble pie…if only she forgot my birthday sometimes.

  14. WE LOVE YOU BACK GRANNY….hugs…

    • Awwww…Princess…you will get me leaking again!

  15. Oh dear Granny I am right there with you.

    • Thanks so much Linda…really appreciated.

  16. love you too, have a good day
    x

    • tHANKS nAPIER…MISS YOU!

  17. Oh granny, we love you too.

  18. My maternal relatives cannot remember even the birth dates of their children. Mother was grateful that all her kids were born either on the 11th or the 13th – but she confused them all the time. I gave her a family ring to help her remember the months at least. I put my birthstone in the center. Didn’t help!

    • Hehehe…I don’t think my mother even knows all the names of her great grandkids.

  19. Het, you’re only human, right?
    Right?


Leave a Reply

Categories

