Posted by: granny1947 | March 18, 2011

Granny’s Friday Feelings

Good Day All.

Notice I have given up trying to figure out who is awake and who is still asleep.
I have started this post with not one idea in my head.
Don’t expect much.

Another scorcher in Cape Town.
Is summer never going to end?
The poor baboons are having to raid swimming pools in the search for water.
The little stream that runs down from the mountain and across our beach is completely dry.
The first time I have seen that in the five odd years I have been living here.
I wonder how the otters are coping?
Mental note…put some water out for the birds this evening.
Though Tom might enjoy that…maybe not such a good idea.

Tomorrow I intend going down to the beach bright and early.
Hit it while it is still nice and cool.
However, the road to hell is paved with good intentions.
Or so they say.

We have a three day weekend.
Yippee.
Can’t remember what the holiday is on Monday.
Think it might be freedom day.
We have a whole heap of holidays in April.
Now the pres has made the 18th of May a holiday so people can go and vote in the municipal elections.
Part of me thinks this is nuts as we are already losing so many man hours.
The lazy part of me thinks it is great.
Now, if i could just win the 12 million in the lottery tonight I could have a REALLY long weekend.
A never ending one.
Nope….don’tΒ  think I would be happy at home all day and every day.
Maybe I would carry on working?
If my boss asked me to do something lousy I could just raise my eyebrows, give him the granny look and say “You want me to do WHAT?”
It would be worthwhile carrying on working just to do that.
But…no…I would retire.
Drive Mex insane.

Now…teatime is over and work beckons.

Be happy.

Responses

  1. This heat wave is going on much longer than usual! And Cindy told me to pack winter pj’s for my trip to JNB πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tandy…hard to believe we live in the same country!

  2. I want a heat wave! Here in non-sunny Cambridge it’s grey and dull and cold. I yearn for the warm sunshine and long evenings sat in the garden as the sun burns red in the sky instead of slicing across the horizon and dropping out of sight in a hurry!

    • Morning Noobcake…we are never happy…I know it is great to have all this sunshine but a bit of rain would be SO nice right now!

  3. Hi Granny it seems funny some of us are yearning for summer and you are yearning for it to end…funny old world. Trust me if you retired you would plenty to do! I never have enough time…

    • Hi Piglet…yes I know…deep down i would love to retire!!!

  4. Have a great 3-day weekend Gran and good luck with the lottery! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Adee…you too love.

  5. I’m dreading the upcoming months of heat here. I can’t stand humid summer heat, and every year we have more 100+ degree days than ever. Yuck.

    Wish we’d have more holidays – who cares about finishing work?! πŸ˜‰ Have a great weekend Granny!

    • Hi RD…our holidays are simply ridiculous…not that I am complaining too much!

  6. Hell, you could retire and take me on luxury liner cruises all year round!
    xxx

    • It is a deal Cindy…the first thing we will do!

  7. The lazy part of me agrees with you…

    • My lazy part is my stronger part Liane!!!

  8. Hi Granny, Good luck in the lottery tonight, then you can have all the long weekends you want.

    I didn’t realize you had otters in Africa, so I did a quick search and read that they are on every continent except Antarctica. Interesting fact.

    Hey, I’ll take your summer weather and you can have my winter weather. Is that a deal? πŸ™‚

  9. Oh I agree with Rose…bring on summer πŸ™‚

    • Hi Princess…you can have ours…my gift to you!

  10. My little brain cannot handle all these varying time zones and seasons,eek! You’re wishing summer was over and we’re just wishing our weather would pick a season and stick to it. Yesterday was 75 and sunny, today was 48 and spitting hail and rain! Mother Nature’s mood disorder makes mine look trivial! Have a good whatever time of day it is there,love!

    • Hi Morgue….they are predicting a very wet winter for us….if it ever gets here….watch this space for complaints of three weeks of rain!

  11. Same here in Oz granny – still hot and sticky and we have only just gone into spring, so it’s supposed to be getting cooler. Roll on winter!
    Retirement is not all it’s cracked up to be – I’m busier now than I was when I worked full time! I suppose the difference now is that the work I do is purely for me, not a boss! I love it!
    Enjoy your walk on the beach.

    • Hi Barb….still haven’t gone to the beach and the forecast for tomorrow is a sweltering 35degrees….have set my alarm for 6:30 so I can get down there before the heat sets in.
      There are a lot of fires around and our area is covered in smoke…hope that is gone by the morning…my house smells like a campfire.

  12. Reading your funny and interesting posts help in the happy dept. I had a little bit of bad news today and probably over-reacted so I am now trying to get back too being happy. I’ll pretend that I am sitting by you at the beach tomorrow.

    • Good Morning Linda…sorry about the bad news love. So ….were you with me on the beach this morning? It was HOT!!!

    • Hi Again Linda…for some reason I can’t connect to your blog…will try again later.

  13. Love your blog, and the pictures of the sea. I am hoping to retire soon-close to the sea. There is nothing like the feeling of the sounds of the waves, and the gentle breeze from the sea.
    Nice blog- enjoyed your posts-
    Happy Blogging πŸ™‚

    • Hi Penny…thank you for the visit…lovely to see you here. Hope your retirement plans work out for you…just not TOO close to the sea!

  14. What is it like to be outside and not be cold or soaked. Even though it keeps me running – dashing from car to wherever – I gained weight with all the eating I did with my company. I couldn’t get them out to walk with me, the tender lassies~!

    • Morning Souldipper…I believe we have rain forecast for Monday….I hope that is true…I have forgotten what rain looks like.
      Today the forecast is 35 degrees…sigh


Leave a Reply

Categories

