Posted by: granny1947 | February 23, 2011

Granny’s Wednesday Whines

Good Afternoon All.

Another stinking hot day in Cape Town.
Roll on winter.
Hot summer days and hot flushes don’t go together.

After supper last night I,suddenly, got the urge to go to the beach.
One should always go with one’s gut.
It was amazing.
I stayed until the sun had sunk below the horizon.
I would have stayed longer but Jasmine was giving me puzzled looks.

There were suprisingly few people enjoying the evening.
I didn’t want to go home.
Ever.

While we were sitting on the dune a swarm of miggies flew past us.
I don’t know how to translate that for overseas friends.
Very small insects.
At midnight Jasmine was racing around the house shaking her head.
I think one of them must have decided her ear looked like a good place to be.
Have you any idea how much noise a dog can make flapping it’s ears?
I,eventually, got up and found some tree tea oil and put a few drops in each ear.
Rubbed her ears and gave her a love.
And it seemed to work.

Then I couldn’t sleep.
And no-one was offering to rub my ears.
Sigh.

Now I need to get ready to see my sweet lung guy.
Who isn’t going to be too thrilled with me as I have not managed to completely quit the smoking.
Yet.
It will happen.

You lot have a good day.

Seeing this is such a boring post let me see if I can find a joke.

http://en.wordpress.com/tag/postaday2011/

 Well I’ll be damned.
Can’t find one.
Not one I can post,anyway.

sorry.

Responses

  1. I think them miggies are called gnats! Be careful with Jasmine shaking her head like that. Sabrina has had to have two operations to drain “bubbles” on her ears from shaking them!

    Good luck with the Lung Guy!

    • Hi Chantelle…damn that was fast…
      thanks…had better start getting ready to leave.

  2. My fourteen year old, who was six months when we came back to the UK, calls them ‘mickies’ because he can’t do the gutteral sound.

    What fabulous pictures; it looks like the clouds are coming right for you.

    Hope everything’s okay with the lungs.

    • Thanks Tilly…the clouds felt like they were coming for me!

  3. Three Englishmen were in a pub and spotted a Scotsman at the bar.
    The first one said he was going to piss him off.
    He walked over to the Scotsman and tapped him on the shoulder.
    “Hey Jock, I hear your St. Andrew was a poof.”
    “Oh aye really? Hmm! I didna know that.”
    Puzzled, the Englishman walked back to his mates.
    “I told him his St. Andrew was a poof and he didn’t care!”
    “You just don’t know how to set him off. Watch and learn.”
    The second Englishman walked over and tapped the Scotsman on the shoulder.
    “Hey Jock, I hear your St. Andrew was a transvestite poof!”
    “Oh, jings! I didnae know that. Thank you.”
    Shocked beyond belief, the Englishman went back to his buddies.
    “You’re right. He is unshakeable!”
    The third Englishman said “No, no, no! I will really piss him off. You
    Just watch.”
    The Englishman walked over to the Scotsman, tapped him on the shoulder
    And said…
    “Hey Jock I hear your St. Andrew was an Englishman!”

    “Aye! So yer mates were sayin’….”

    • I love it…thank you!!!!

  4. OK – there is your joke.

    That looked like magic, we will have to do sunset sometime

    • LOL Thanks for that morning laugh! 🙂

    • Absolutely Sidey…when are you coming down again?

  5. What gorgeous pictures Granny! Just when I think they can’t get any better, you come up with some incredible new shots.

    Good luck with the lung doc, and I hope those ciggies are on their last few days! 🙂

    • Thanks RD…I was really pleased with these.

  6. You always manage to make me smile even when you say your day is boring 🙂
    Loved the pictures of the beach; can really relate to those special sunsets they bring such peace.

    • Thanks Piglet…am off my pizza now…see you guys later!

  7. Beautiful pics ~ love the middle one!
    Miggies may be gnats, or “No See Ums”

    @Sidey ~ love the St. Andrew’s joke.

    Enjoy your pizza, Granny

    • Hi NR….Pizza was great…tummy is very full.
      No see ums….that is so cute!

  8. Really stunning pics!Remember ‘real women don’t have hot flushes,they have power surges’.

    • Oh bb…I love that…I must remember it!

  9. Stunning pic Granny ..
    you are right .. one should always go with one’s gut ….
    waiting with bated breathe to hear how the visit to the lung dood went ..

    • Hi Puppy…as you can see…fail!!!

  10. You don’t actually need those ciggies, they need you. Have a good one.

    • I know Rob…you are talking to the almost converted.

  11. Yes, miggies = gnats. Take care of yourself and thanks for your expressions of concern on Older Eyes. I’m back to reading …

    • Hi Bud…am so pleased to hear that…I have missed you!

  12. Our new budget has made me seriously consider stopping smoking …
    Miggies are called midges, I think.
    Love you
    xxx

    • Hi Cindy…we always say that and then we just pay!

  13. The first photo – WOW! Ya done good, Kid!!

    Hope the oil got the miggie. You don’t have to translate, Granny, the name sez it all! I can just imagine the little beggars being a big nuisance.

    • Morning souldipper…I am just glad I never got one in MY ear!


Leave a Reply

Categories

