Posted by: granny1947 | February 18, 2011

Granny’s Friday mumbles

Good Morning All.

This was the sight that greeted me as I was about to go up the mountain.
How low can clouds go?
Visibility at the top was almost non existent.
How to start the day with an adrenalin rush.

Coming home last night I was greeted(lots of greetings) by the sight of smoke and helicopters just outside our village.
Again.
This time on the other side of the road on a large farm.
Imhoff farm Cindy.
At a quarter to seven this morning there was still a fire engine there dousing down the trees.
This wind is dreadful for them.
Fortunately, for me, the wind is blowing away from our village so we didn’t get the smoke,smell or ash.

I popped down to the beachfront to take a couple of shots for you guys,yesterday.
A slightly different view.
I haven’t walked the whole week.
This weekend I HAVE to dredge up the energy.

I had three hours sleep again last night.
This is going to be a loooooooong day.
I have to pick up 7 year old after work(her parents going to the U2 concert)
and then I have to fetch 17 year old who is coming for the weekend.
Hope I remember them both.

Tomorrow night son, DIL and I are going to see Richard the third at the Artscape.
I hope my brain is prepared for the culture shock.

Oh yes….happy anniversary to elder son and precious DIL for yesterday.
Twenty one years.
Well done.
Better than I managed.
Even though I tried three times!

Have a great day all.

http://en.wordpress.com/tag/postaday2011/

p.s.

The baby survived and is at Red Cross children’s hospital.
The pitbull was put down.

Responses

  1. poor baby and dog. dogs like that are often not trained properly, and in-bred to bring out the most vicious tendencies. so very sad all round

    • Hi Sidey…I adore dogs..you know that…however…pitbulls…hmmmm…not sure about them!

  2. Shame man, how the smoke doesn’t make you feel worse.
    Hope Barry got his donkey to safety from the fire!
    Love you
    xxx

    • I think Barry had a fight with Imhoff…don’t know if he still lives there…haven’t seen him around for a long time.

  3. mmmm…. saw that mist yesterday morning too and hoped that we would get some rain, but alas, only more wind! A nice summer storm would be excellent about now *hopeful*

    Hope you remember to fetch all kidzzzz……

    Have a great weekend!

    Namaste ;}}

    • hi Xena!!!! Lovely to see you over here…thanks for visiting!

  4. Great pics! You live in a beautiful part of the world granny.
    Thanks for the update on the baby and the dog.

    • Hi Barb…I know…just love sharing the pics.

  5. Incredible photos once again Granny. So sorry your energy level hasn’t picked up; having trouble sleeping doesn’t help anything. Glad the baby is okay, she’ll probably have a fear of dogs all her life! I agree with you – I love dogs (all animals, really), but pit bulls can be unpredictable, especially if they’re not trained right. Even so, though…. If a dog has attacked once, the owner has a responsibility not to give it the opportunity to do it again. Sad story.

    Don’t want to end on a low note, so have fun at the show and with your son and DIL! Happy weekend! 🙂

    • Thanks RD…It is half past seven and I am off to shower…can’t keep my eyes open!

  6. Beautiful shots, Granny

    Don’t forget your apples when you head home today! 🙂

  7. Ah, that dear little soul. Damn lucky for that Dr’s office!! I hope the baby will come to know that he/she needs to get that memory out of the body. Trauma eats at health unless we have help to have it removed.

    • Hi Souldipper…hopefully the baby will be too young to remember.

  8. I’m hoping for some rain too, when did we last have a decent down pour.
    We had a black south easter here on Thursday and 150mm of rain………. the drops were 150mm apart.

    • Morning Rob…a couple of weeks ago i got an sms from Dialdirect to warn of exceptionally heavy rain expected at 20:00…at seven thirty ten drops fell.
      I suppose when it does start raining we will be complaining too!

  9. Hey Granny,
    I have also eventually shifted over here…. still getting blog started but kept same name…. have a great weekend!
    Namaste
    ;}}

    • Hi Xena…welcome. It is a bit daunting at first…the site is so huge but there are wonderful people over here and I love it.
      Let me know when your blog is up and I will come over and visit.

      • Hey Granny, blog is up, just need to get started with regular postings again…. ;}

      • On my way over!


Leave a Reply

Categories

