Posted by: granny1947 | January 29, 2011

Granny and breaking news

Good Morning Everyone.

From the war zone.
Well, that is what it feels like.

We woke up this morning to the sight of the mountain behind our house ablaze.
There are fire trucks and vehicles with flashing lights right in front of our house.
They have been there since the early hours of this morning.
With a bloody generator going.
Very loudly.
I suspect for their coffee.

Now the cavalry has arrived.
Three helicopters are doing a constant circle around my house.
Plus a plane that drops water.
And a spotter plane.

Ok…update.
There are now two planes dropping water.

The noise is unbelievable.
Our little village doesn’t know what has hit it.
Such excitement.
Old people could have heart attacks.

The flames have now gone but I think they are frantically wetting the mountain before the wind picks up.

It got me thinking.
If the flames came down this way what would I save?
Besides Jasmine and Tom.
My crystal?
No.
My paperwork.
God no…that is in three different cupboards.
My computer?
Hell yes.
All my pictures are on this thing.
A few clothes.
My car.
Which is covered in soot.

For Mex it would be easy.
He can fit his whole life into his car in a few minutes.
He is NOT a hoarder.

I might come and give you an update later.
Sudden silence.
Think the helicopters might have left.

Me being me I am wondering how many baboons and (horrors) snakes might decide to come down the mountain.

Responses

  1. When it comes to the crunch of saving stuff, it’s amazing how little we REALLY need!

    • Absolutely Adee…makes one think

  2. Morning Granny. I was wondering why planes were flying over Fish Hoek this morning – not a usual sight. I hope they get the fire under control. *Shudders* at the thought of “wild life” heading down the mountain!

    • Good Morning 40….yep…wild life and me…nope…I am a townie!

  3. eeek, those summer fires when there is no rain are so scary.

    • Hi Sidey….thank heavens no wind…that is a blessing!

  4. Holy….scary, I have the opposite worry here, mine is water 😦 Glad everything is ok and you didn’t need an evacuation my friend…

    • Hi Princess….stinking hot here today…good fire weather….

  5. Oh oh oh…..Tyler is devastated. His little youth group climbed up there last evening and he watched such a lovely sunset he says….brownieboy tells me they arrested a couple of the rasta kind who lit fires up there this week…..hope its all back to normal asap…fires are horrible. Hugs xx

    • Hi Colleen….reassure him the mountain is still there!!!
      Lots of love girl.

  6. My wife and I were evacuated because of wildfires for two of the last four years, so we did have to decide what to take. Pictures, computers, important family papers, cats. It was very scary. We had the supertankers dropping water, an incredible and noisy sight. At one point, the entire street leading to our house was lined with fire engines. I hope the fire is indeed out and that all is OK.

    Bud aka Older Eyes

    • How awful Bud….paintings…never thought of them…have three or four I would hate to lose.
      We often have fires too.
      About four or five years ago I got caught in one on the way home from work….I was terrified.

  7. OMG I hope you are OK. We have forest fires in Portugal and they are frigtening. So many people have lost their homes and even worse their lives.

    • Hello PIP…we are fine but I think the fires are deliberately being lit…very hot here…hope they have caught the sods.

  8. Thank goodness it wasn’t the other day when you said it was really windy. That could have been disastrous. I’m glad to hear you’re okay. 🙂

  9. Glad that you are OK and did not have to evacuate. Hope the snakes and babboons and safe and out of harm’s way . . . and your way.

  10. I’m so thankful you & your family are okay. I can’t imagine waking to the chaos of the firefighters and a wild fire. I’m like you on what to save. Take care. I hope the rest of your week end is peaceful.

    • Hello EC…thank you love…sorry I have not been to visit…maybe a bit later.

  11. Wow, Granny, fires are frightening for us, too. Thankfully we don’t have any dangerous wild life to worry about on our small island. However, we are on an active fault line…

    *Off to check real estate in the middle of Canada*

    • Hi Again SD…I think I would love to live on an island…but NOT on a fault line!

  12. Wow what a way to start the day, talk about a rude awakening! Exciting though, and thank goodness there are people that choose to fight fire as their job!

    You got me thinking about what I’d save…I used to be much more attached to everything. Now I think I would just grab my purse, with iPhone, a favorite pair of gold earrings & necklace, and two pieces of artwork.

    I’m glad your house, pets and you are okay, with the exception of frayed nerves.

    • Hi Spirited Soul…now it is just the constant cleaning of all the ash that just keeps on coming back!

  13. Yikes, the one thing I don’t miss about Cape Town, hate those fires 😦

    • I know Cindy…they are the pits.


Leave a Reply

Categories

