Posted by: granny1947 | January 23, 2011

Granny and friends.

 

Good Morning All.

From a rather unpleasant Cape Town.
The sun is shining but the wind is howling.
Jasmine is watching my every move in the hopes we will go for a walk.
Maybe later.
The pics will be “yesterday” ones.
Somehow, I always feel I am cheating when I don’t post a “today” pic.

Today’s topic from WP is How do you define the word friend?
Let’s see if I can copy the url.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2011/01/22/topic-how-do-you-define-a-friend/

This is a subject close to my heart.
I have wonderful friends.
Friends I have had for over fifty years.
Some for about twenty years.
And, some new ones…thanks to blogging.

So how does one define a friend?

Well, they love you even when you are being a complete pratt.
When you do something really dumb they understand WHY you did it.
And they don’t judge you.
They defend you even when the odds are stacked against you.
When something dreadful happens to you they will drop everything to be with you.

You can tell them anything.
Because you trust them.

Then there was another tip in the same vein.

What are three things you can do to be a better friend to the people in your life?

Listen.
Don’t judge.
Listen.

Then, of course, with some friends, the odd meaty bone is essential.

Responses

  1. Granny ever do something dumb? Never!
    *goes away feeling guilty for posting ‘last year’ pics, nevermind ‘yesterday’ pics*
    Enjoy your Sunday. Love you. xxx

    • Good morning Cindy with the freshly painted nails..I still have to do that for the week ahead.
      I will be thinking of you tomorrow…know you are going to have such fun.
      BTW…when are you going to blog?

  2. lovely post Gran! The wind is miserable today!

    • Thanks Jem….guess I should get dressed and clean a toilet or two…sigh

  3. Poor jassie, no walk!]

    Friends are exactly that. They love you because and anyway

    • If I wasn’t being beaten by some woman,who shall remain nameless, I would be walking right now.

  4. Oh what a stunning post Gogo. We love and miss you from Honkers!

    • hello My Love!!!!! I miss you too….give Mike a big kiss from me.

  5. Oh, granny – I have missed reading your fun and sassy posts. See – I not only posted today, finally, after so many months, but I’m also taking time to visit some of my favorite blogs. I won’t have time to visit all the ones I want to visit, but I had to visit yours after I saw the lovely notes you have left for me on my blog. Thank you, dear blogger friend!

    • Welcome back Dawn…we have really missed you!

  6. What a gift to be heard! You nailed it for me, Granny.

    • Thank you Souldipper…short and sweet!

  7. I agree. Very Inspirational! 🙂

    • Thank you EC…have a super day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

