Posted by: granny1947 | December 29, 2010

Granny’s final 2010 rambling

Hello All.

We have not had a walk for three days.
Jasmine is ignoring me completely.
If we had a dogbox I would be SO in it.
I just cannot bear the thought of going out in gale force winds.
And tomorrow they are forecasting 55km gales.
Worse than today.
I will have to take her down to the point to walk on the rocks.

It can’t be today.
I had the car washed and vacuumed this morning.
Only because I am picking up friends this evening.
I just couldn’t let anyone sit in the back with all that hair and sand.

This evening we are having our traditional Xmas dinner with friends.
A bit later than usual this year.
I have two school friends who live in Cape Town.
I cherish this friendship.
It has lasted over fifty years!
I have a trifle in the fridge and I am going to do a potato bake.
With LOADS of garlic.
And cream.
Hope my jeans are going to fit me when I have to catch the plane of the first.

Talking about the first.
My Mom is so excited about me coming up.
Wish I felt so enthusiastic.
I DO want to see her.
Just don’t want to leave my comfort zone.
Or Jasmine.
Or Tom.
Oh OK…or Mex.

I popped into a coffee shop while they were cleaning my car.
Had two cups of excellent coffee.
And a budget breakfast.

I got chatting to a guy about book readers and the internet.
He said he gets all his esoteric books online.
Esoteric?
Yep…I have no idea what that means either.
Didn’t let him know, though.
Just nodded my head sagely.

So…now I had better do some cooking.
No time for a nap today.
Mex is snoring on the couch.
Lucky devil.

Oh yes…received an e-mail just now.
Apparently, I have won a million pounds on some international e-mail lottery.
I must be going senile.
Don’t remember entering.

Responses

  1. … or MEX? *faints*

    • Hehehe Cindy…you know then!

  2. How wonderful that you can share a meal with two long-time friends. My high school mates love golf so get-togethers involve a lot of golf and drinking. I do neither – so thank goodness for email. None of them are on Face Book. Two of the women are married to retired RCMPolice – one had worked in Intelligence. So they feel wild having an email address!

    • Good Morning Souldipper…yes I am so lucky…the one friend and I have known each other since standard four…that is about the time of the ark. We are very close and it is great to have someone you can just be yourself with and be accepted…warts and all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

