Posted by: granny1947 | September 12, 2010

Granny goes shopping

Good Morning Everyone.

It takes a special sort of person to go shopping with a 16 year old girl.
I am not that person.
I took granddaughter to look for a dress.
It was horrific.
And sad.
And frustrating.
Ok…horrific is a bit strong.

She is a bit on the big side.
This is the sad bit.
She wants to wear dresses on the knee.
Then hates her legs.
Everything she tried on was so unsuitable.
We eventually left with nothing.
And her almost in tears.
One tries to,tactfully, advise.
What do grannies know?

Saw the above Egyptian geese on MY beach yesterday.
Beautiful birds.

The tide was very high.
There wasn’t much place to walk.
And the sea was turbulent.

It is a glorious day today.
I think the beach is calling.
Yes…I hear it.
Time to get dressed.
After all…it IS ten o’clock.

Hope you are all having a super weekend.

Responses

  1. I would like to live in that photo ! and if it’s any consolation , shopping with my 17yr old daughter is much the same. She has a great figure but we go through such drama every time we shop for clothes !

    • Thank you for the visit Bridgette…actually…shopping with my 17yr old grandson is just as bad..maybe worse!

  2. Poor lass 😦
    Enjoy the beach.

    • Thanks Cindy…whaen are the dirty family expected back?

  3. This is an exceptionally beautiful photo, Gran, with the spray coming off the distant waves. You can almost taste the saltiness of the air! Lucky you!

    We all know the disappointment (well, most of us) of not finding THE perfect dress to make us look perfect too.

    • Morning Adee…I don’t own a dress so I might go through the same angst if I had to go shopping for one!

      • That’s exactly why I don’t own one either. I had one in my cupboard, still with the tickets on, which I gave to my daughter the other day.

      • Hi Adee…I really should have just ONE dress…mind you…don’t know when i would ever wear it!

  4. Gorgeous geese, granny. Shopping for other people’s clothes is always a nightmare, whatever size and shape they are. It’s bad enough trying to find something for myself. Exhausting work. Have a great Sunday, granny. Hugs xx

    • Morning AD…I,eventually,went and sat in the car….think it was the wrong move…misery loves company!

  5. I feel her pain and yours!
    That sea looks wonderful, ours was like that on Friday morning and the surfers were out in full force before heading off to work.

    • Morning HP….the tide was low this morning but still plenty of waves and surfers…wind picking up now.

  6. Been there, done that…it takes years off your life.A tip :Leggings are in and a short dress can be worn over.Hides a multitude of sins.

    • Hi bb…that sounds good but won’t it be hot in summer?

  7. I think the most horific thing I ever did was taking the eldest teenager for his Matric outfit. Oh my word…. I nearly killed him!
    I feel so sad for her that she has body issues. She must feel so self-conscience…. poor thing…. You deserve a medal for taking her in the first place because I still haven’t gone into a clothing store after the eldest teenager’s stint… Yikes!

    • Tell me about it Frog…doesn’t like her legs…or her arms…or or or…very sad.

  8. Ugh! I don’t envy you that task! I don’t own any dresses either; I wore them to work every day for YEARS and just got so darned sick of the stockings and heels and sitting “properly”…. DONE with that! The other day I tried on more than 30 pairs of jeans at the store with no success – they don’t make them for people with figure flaws! Everyone’s supposed to be built like a scrawny runway model – or just wear what they make and let your flaws “hang out”. Don’t know why they can;t make clothes for real women anymore. Never had this problem before these darned stretch denims came out.

    • I know just what you mean RD….let’s give it up for REAL women!


Leave a Reply

Categories

