Posted by: granny1947 | August 20, 2010

Granny’s Friday vent

Good Morning All.
NO…it is NOT a good morning.
This Granny is furious.
This is our news headline today.

// //

Seven patients pay ultimate price

2010-08-19 23:17

//

//

//

Hospital workers protest outside the Helen Joseph Hospital in Johannesburg, during the second day of a nationwide civil service strike. (Denis Farrell,

// //

Gloria Edwards, Beeld

Johannesburg – At least seven patients, including three babies, died in state hospitals in Gauteng and Mpumalanga, since hundreds of striking hospital workers started paralysing service delivery countrywide on Wednesday.

Some of the babies died because they were left without food for an entire day.

Protesters even dragged a nurse from a theatre during an operation, leaving the orthopaedic surgeon and anaesthesiologist to do what they could on their own.

WTF?????????????????????

What sort of people can DO this sort of thing?
By all means strike if you want to.
Killing people is another story.
They have lost all sympathy from me.
Allowing babies to go hungry?
Do these “people” have no heart?
I am not going to call them animals.
It is an insult to all animals.
I can’t even call them savages.
They have education.
For FUCK sake they are supposed to be NURSES!

God help this beautiful country of ours.

Responses

  1. I have no words.

    • Morning Cindy…I have too many at the moment…most of which I cannot publish!

  2. Nor me.

    (Gran, can I link to your blog?)

    • Yes Adee…with pleasure.

      • Thanks so much – done.

      • And well done too!

  3. me neither ………. sad sad day!

    • Thanks for the visit Janice…yes…very, very sad.

  4. I ranted about this yesterday. I am beyond angry and am carrying my knobkierrie with me to use on anyone who dare try and mess with our school.

    • Hello Madmom…I must come over and look…have been so damn busy….I hate bullies in any form!

  5. As I said on Daaivarks blog – Hippocratic Oath se moer – Hypocrite is more like it!!

    • Good Morning Chris…I must go over and read his post…thank you.

  6. […] Please read this too. […]

  7. We are all feeling anger and outrage at the uncaring attitude apparent in our strikers, who are supposed to be the care and eductaion providers on which our country relys. Good post granny. Hugs xx

    • Hello AD….lesson one…never post when there is smoke coming out of your ears….I am still so upset at the mindset…or is it the mindlessset?

  8. Oh my gosh, is this for real? Babies were left to DIE? I don’t know what to say. Will these people be held responsible? Unreal.

    • Hello Amy..yes it is true…and no…I don’t think anyone will be made to pay….I am SO angry.

      • There was no accountability in previous strikes, and I doubt there will be anyone held accountable now.

  9. I’m beyond tired of the violence shown towards non-strikers and the intimidation of the school children, but denying ill people medical treatment and the deaths so far has left me speechless 😦

    • Hello HP…So…I take it you survived…bad girl…have been waiting to hear from you ALL day.

  10. Unbelievable — I’m unable to comment.

    • Thinking South Africans feel so damn helpless Klrs!!!

  11. Horrible story. Groups of people seem to be able to egg each other on to things they would never do individually. Maybe there’s a little devil in all of us and when we get in a mob, there’s a big devil. I actually don’t believe in devils. With what people are capable of, who needs one?

    Bud

    • Morning Bud…mob violence is terrifying…all common sense goes out the door.


Leave a Reply

Categories

