Posted by: granny1947 | July 27, 2010

Granny’s Tuesday…yech!

Good Morning Bloggers.

It is one of THOSE days.
Already.
I awoke with a slight headache….too much sleep.
I got toothepaste all over my nightshirt.
I had huge bags under my eyes…oh ok…that is every day.

I am two staff members down.
One with flu.
One with the runs.
Will have to do a lot of reshuffling.
Bliksem(that is afrikaans for damnit)(I think)

The 17 year old grandson went for an interview at his old school yesterday.
He was asked what he could add to the school.
He froze.
He was sweating.
It does NOT look promising.

It got me thinking.
If I was asked the same question about my job what would I say?
I make people laugh?
All in all it is a pretty difficult question to answer when you are least expecting it.
Especially when you are a shy teenager.

Payday tomorrow.
Don’t know why I look forward to it.
I look at my bank balance.
Go onto Internet banking.
Pay all my debts.
Look at the calender.
To see when NEXT payday is.

From the Association Of Retired People

Questions and Answers from AARP Forum
Q: Where can men over the age of 60 find younger, sexy women who are only interested in them and not their money? A: Try a bookstore, under fiction.
Q: What can a man do while his wife is going through menopause? A: Keep busy. If you’re handy with tools, you can finish the basement.  When you’re done you’ll have a place to live.
Q: Someone has told me that menopause is mentioned in the bible. Is that true? 
Where can it be found?
A: Yes. Matthew 14:92: 
“And Mary rode Joseph’s ass all the way to Egypt…”
Q: How can you increase the heart rate of your 60-plus year old husband? A: Tell him you’re pregnant.
Q: How can you avoid that terrible curse of the elderly wrinkles? A: Take off your glasses.
Q: Seriously! What can I do for these Crow’s feet and all those wrinkles on my face? A: Go braless. It will usually pull them out.
Q: Why should 60-plus year old people use valet parking? A: Valets don’t forget where they park your car.
Q: Is it common for 60-plus year olds to have problems with short term memory storage? A: Storing memory is not a problem, retrieving it is the problem.
Q: As people age, do they sleep more soundly? A: Yes, but usually in the afternoon.
Q: Where should 60-plus year olds look for eye glasses? A: On their foreheads.
Q: What is the most common remark made by 60-plus year olds when they enter antique stores? A: “Gosh, I remember these!”
SMILE, You’ve still got your sense of humor, RIGHT?
Responses

  1. Let’s play hookie, I’m blech today too.
    I think bliksem is bastard?

    Your bottom bit of this post is all funny, can’t see half of it.

    • Morning Cin…oh well…then that joke will fall flat!
      Just went to your post to ask where you are.
      How was the birthday party?

  2. I’m quite sure the school ‘person’ didn’t expect an answer. He/she just wanted to make your g/son feel 100 x worse than he already was! What grade is he in?

    • Hi Adee…he is in grade 11…REALLY wants to get his act together…just hope he gets the chance.

  3. Oh no granny! This doesn’t sound at all good. have you had your coffee yet? Hope things improve as the day wears on and not too slowly either. Maybe 17 year old will be given a chance. Hugs to you and thanks for the lekker pic. xx

    • Thanks AD…am not too hopeful but one never knows.

  4. hope the day improves for both of you

    • Thanks Sidey…hope harder….am off to my second of three meetings…don’t know when I am supposed to work!

  5. Shame poor kid, I hate questions like that.

    • Tell me about it Supa….think I would have gone blank too.

  6. I sincerely hope your grandkids know just how lucky they are to have a Granny like you!!
    Talking of paying debts – I once worked with a guy who earned commission only – some months were good, most were not – heard him one day on the phone with one of his creditors telling them that if they gave him a hard time he wouldn’t even put their name in the hat that month!! Loved his style!

    • My late Dad always said that the people you owed money to were worried…no sense in you both worrying!
      Thanks for popping in Wolf!

  7. Good morning! I usually get the toothpaste on the ends of my hair because I’m such a dimwit in the morning and forget to tie it back. Then I have to walk around with dripping hair because of the quickie rinse in cold water. Anyway. . . hope your day improves — loved the picture this morning — could almost hear those waves crashing on the beach. You are so lucky to live where you do!

    • Morning Kathy….I get it in my hair too but wasn’t brave enough to share that!!!!!
      I normally only discover it when I get to work so no rinse.

  8. You and I should have spent the day at the beach instead.
    Poor grandson, I’m holding thumbs that he’s accepted back into the school.
    xx

    • Thanks HP…me too.(not in our costumes…I don’t do costumes anymore)

  9. I really hope your grandson gets back into school and has another chance. Everyone deserves a second chance. Do you know Afrikaans? How cool is that? I know how to swear in Spanish, Belgian and English and that’s the extent of my talents. Have a fab day!

    • Morning Amy…me too…the school HAS turned him down…now we are trying to get him into a college.
      I can swear in English,Afrikaans,Xhosa and a little German.
      Want a couple of lessons?


Leave a Reply

Categories

