Posted by: granny1947 | July 11, 2010

Granny’s Sunday thoughts

Good Morning All.

Back to work tomorrow.
Sigh.
Oh well….am grateful to have a job.

We have just come back from a walk on the beach.
It rained during the night.
The sand was wet and cold.
My feet were freezing before I even got down to the waterline.
Did I mention I walk barefoot?
There were only a few people who were also owned by dogs able to send them on guilt trips.
And one guy with no dog.
Have no idea what HIS excuse was.

I sat on my thinking rock.
All I could think was “shyte it is cold”
I didn’t linger.
We went for an extra long walk.
Because I needed to walk off Friday’s excesses.
And Jasmine looked like she had no intention of going back to the car yet.
So I girded my loins and plodded on.
How DOES one gird one’s loins?
What does that even mean?
Sounds a little obscene.

You might have noticed that my Sunday thoughts are not very deep.

I can’t find my hairbrush.
I look like a wild woman from Borneo.
Where did THAT saying come from?
Are there wild women in Borneo?
For that matter…where IS Borneo?

Oh good grief…I think I should stop.

Have a great Sunday all.

Responses

  1. The term “gird your loins” was used in the Roman Era meaning to pull up and tie your lower garments between your legs to increase your mobility in battle. In the modern age, it has become an idiom meaning to prepare yourself for the worst.

    The Wild Men of Borneo, Waino and Plutano, were a pair of exceptionally strong dwarf brothers who were most famously associated with P. T. Barnum and his freak show exhibitions.

    Have you checked your lotto ticket???

    • Well,Cindy, thank you for that.
      Yes,no luck.
      Always Tuesday!

  2. Thanks for the giggles – I needed them!

    • Shame Adee…is the hand still so painful?

  3. Very funny ramblings this morning granny. You really made me laugh. Hope it’s not too much of a culture shock tomorrow when you have to go back to work, Hugs to you.

    • hi AD…work…a four letter word!

  4. I had a bet with myself Cin would answer the questions. She’s wrong, of course. The loin one was a dyslexic lion tamer who had to get them behind the grid before he left, and the wild men of Borneo were miffed when a Borneo Again Christian missionary returned there. They invited him for lunch, and pronounced him delicious.

    • Oh you crack me up Col…like your answers much better….sorry Cindy!

      • pffft!

      • Now is that polite Cindy???
        Huh, huh?


Leave a Reply

Categories

