Posted by: granny1947 | June 29, 2010

Worried Granny

 

Morning all.
Not a happy post today.
I don’t feel funny.
Might look funny but that is it.

Got a call from my younger daughter,yesterday.
Elder daughter(mother of number seven) is in big shyte.
They are about to be evicted.
Soon after she fell pregnant her partner lost his vehicle.
He had a shuttle service.
His business partner got into financial trouble and the vehicle was taken.
He now has a half day job…making just enough to feed them.
Not enough for the rent too.

Younger daughter suggested they come to me.
I live in a shoebox….there was an old lady who lived in a shoe.
That is me.
If they came to me my menopausal ex would head for the hills.
Leaving me to pay the full rent and feed everyone.

Four years ago I was in a huge house and three of my kids and four of my grandkids lived with me.
I was the only breadwinner.
I am still paying off credit cards from that period.
I just can’t do this again.
Does this make me a terrible mother?
So be it.
However, I shall be worrying my head off.

My boss has just got back from two weeks in Germany.
My peace and quiet are at an end.
I had better try to clear my desk a bit.

Have a great day.

A senior citizen said to his eighty-year old buddy:
‘So I hear you’re getting married?’

‘Yep!’

‘Do I know her?’

‘Nope!’

‘This woman, is she good looking?’

‘Not really.’

‘Is she a good cook?’

‘Naw, she can’t cook too well.’

‘Does she have lots of money?’

‘Nope! Poor as a church mouse.’

‘Well, then, is she good in bed?’

‘I don’t know.’

‘Why in the world do you want to marry her then?’

‘Because she can still drive!’

Responses

  1. Oh Granny, this is awful!!!
    But you have to draw the line somewhere. You do so much for your family already, surely they can’t expect this from you as well. I know that the mommy will always be the mommy, but the chicks have to be kicked out of the nest and must learn to fly on their own.
    Big big hug for you.

    • Good Morning Rose…I know love…feel terrible though.

  2. They are grown up and can NOT come to sponge off you. Stand firm.

    • Morning Cin…I know love…there is the new baby,though.

  3. Eeeek!! I really hope they don’t come to you. At some point they need to accept responsibility for their decisions and their actions! Perhaps you should start stocking up on wine!!

    • Hi Justme…maybe not…too much wine and I might invite the whole world to move in!!!

  4. Wow – Granny what an aweful situation! You cannot take on this situation – that is evident. Give them your love but not your home … I hope their situation improves xxxx

    • Hi Janice…thank you so much for the visit….I hear you but it is not going to be easy!

  5. Hope it all works out!

  6. 😦 my friend .. hang in there and stand tough .. cheeky of youngest daughter to volenteer you as the standby place to crash. I echo what all have said my friend – tough to say – but they are big and ugly enough to stand on their own two feet and accept the consequences of what life dishes them.
    Hugs

    • Hi My Friend…am trying not to think about it…not succeeding too well!

  7. Eeekkkk!!!
    Granny please don’t even contemplate this… I know a mother’s heart can not be dictated to, but sooner or later it must become apparent that you are the only one worrying about your health and your future. You need to go off duty now and live your life. You deserve it!
    I might sound very hard, but no! Younger daughter can take them in if she so wishes – you have gone WAY beyond what is considered reasonable! 😦
    If you keep on bailing them out they will never be able to look after themselves. You will be doing yourself AND THEM a disservice. Please stay strong and don’t EVER see this as being a bad Mom. A good mom knows when to cut the apron strings.
    *want me to come over and kick their butts?*

    • Good Morning Lynda….they are 200kms away…do have time to go up there and kick butt?

  8. What a terrible situation you’ve been faced with granny. Ultimately you can only do what you can afford and I think you have to tell them that you just can’t afford take on extra baggage. It’s so difficult though to say no to your own family especially as you say, with an innocent baby involved. Hugs to you.

    • Morning AD….that is the problem…can’t stop thinking of the baby.

  9. You can be a good mom and grandma and do what you can to help out, but do not let their situation rob you of a life and sanity. 12 years ago my dad left my mom, my sister got pregnant and married a bum who still won’t work even now, and they all live with and off my mother, with no end in sight. Through her knee replacement surgery this year their only concern was how her partial disability income would affect them. They’re killing my mom and it breaks my heart but after 12 years, I don’t think any of them could exist apart. Make sure that your desire to be a good person doesn’t land you in my mom’s predicament.

    • Wow Morgue….this message strengthens my resolve.Thank you Love.

  10. I feel for you I really do.I don’t know what to say.They are your children and I know you can’t see them in the street.Can’t your SIL get another job at all?The problem is that it’s too easy for them to move in with you.What if you weren’t there?

    • Morning BB…if I wasn’t here they would survive….somehow…I know that.
      They live in a tiny village…very little work available.

  11. Everyone has said what needs to be said, Granny. They’re old enough and big enough to stand on their own two feet and take responsibility for their own lives. Taking them in is the easy way out to the detriment of your own health and finances.
    I know it can’t be easy for you, but you need to stand firm.
    Big hugs
    xxx

    • Morning HP…I am trying to say firm…

  12. Do they know about this blog? Maybe they’ll read your post and know exactly how you feel. Yikes – I really feel for you.

    • Morning amy…don’t think they read my blog…maybe I should point them in this direction?

  13. Granny, my Guides were nagging me to give you a message! I tried to ignore them, but I obliged, meditated and guess what… It’s very loving.

    I sent it to the email address associated with this blog, but it came back undelivered. If you would like it, email me and I’ll send it to the correct email address.

    My heart, prayers and trust are all with you!
    Love, Amy

    • Thank you so much Amy…have sent you a mail.

  14. Ouch! I’m missing for a few days, and suddenly everything has turned upside-down! Quire a predicament. I feel for you, and if I had any sensible suggestions I would offer them!

  15. I’ve been reading your posts from newest backwards – and I still say NO!!! When you have no money or job will they all look after you? Be strong, Gran!

    • Hello Adee….where have you been? I have missed you. Don’t worry …the strength and sense of humour is returning!


Leave a Reply

Categories

