Posted by: granny1947 | June 3, 2010

Blind Granny

Morning All.

So…yesterday I toddled down to visit my optomotrist.
I have suspected a problem for a while.
Things were staying blurry even when I cleaned my glasses every five minutes.
Turns out my vision has weakened to the extent that,if I don’t wear my glasses while driving, I am breaking the law!

After he had determined I needed new glasses he peered into my eyes.
Announced I have a couple of white spots on my right eye(the left is fine).
Said I could “possibly” get a cataract in about ten years time.
Then said “I don’t want you to worry about it…in fact…I want you to forget all about it”
Well….colour me stupid…if he wants me to forget about why the hell did he TELL me about it?

I am going to have to talk to my eye.
I want the cataract NOW.
In ten years time(unless I win the lottery) I will not be on a medical aid.
I would have to go to a state hospital.
Perish the thought.
They would probably remove some part of me I am rather attached to.
Like an ear.
Then I wouldn’t be able to WEAR glasses.

Someone sent around a notice yesterday.
Advertising raw honey.
You get cooked honey?
I never knew.
There is SO much I don’t know.
Sigh.

Responses

  1. Sorry, *loud laughter* you’re too funny!

  2. I’ve been wondering the same thing about “raw” power? I’ve never seen a man with COOKED power – only RAW power…. strange huh?

    • You are right Lyndatjie…have never thought of that….guess it sounds stronger!

  3. Hehe, your posts are always a lovely start to the day.

    • Thanks Madmom…..I appreciate it.

  4. I really do love reading your blog. I smile, I chuckle I laugh. I love your photos … I am a beach bum at heart. And it seems pretty cool … as we used to say … to have a friend halfway around the world.

    Bud aka Older Eyes

    • Hello Bud…now you have me blushing….back at you!

  5. You make me laugh!

    • good Supa…the best way to start the day!

  6. *waves and hopes that Granny sees her*

    You are so funny! Have a great day 😀

    • Of course I see you Justme but I will see you a lot better next week!!!

  7. Oh dear! You must be getting on…*runs away before she gets a grannyklap*

    • I know where you live New Attitude!!!!

  8. LOL Granny! Shame – but my Dad had a cataract op and he sees better than me now. And for me, driving with glasses has never been legal yet.

    • I am not worried…might never happen and I would have wasted some good worrying time!

  9. I hear that after a cataract op you will never need distance glasses only, perhaps, reading glasses. What a poep to tell you though and then say not to worry!

    • hi Adee…on the upside it gave me something to blog about!!!

      • … and @Lyndatjie – what about ‘raw sewage’? Who cooks it, lol? 😀

      • Oh Adee…you are too quick for me today!!!

  10. A beautiful serene photo and a good laugh – thanks – you made my day!

  11. I got carried away… sorry… 😦
    Placed images under SLIDEBAR on the left.

    • No problem….thank you…Granny shuffles over to peer at her new look post!

  12. Raw honey is what happens when the bees’es little cooker-magaftas run out of gas. (Or is it when they forgot to comb their hair ?) Something like that anyway.

    As for the eyes – probably just a case of oldageitis.

    *doesn’t duck, ‘cos granny can’t see to smack me, anyway*

    • And if granny’s not wearing her specs, then she can’t hear either!

      • Exactly HP!!!!

    • Wait until next week when I get my new specs…then you had better run….fast!!!

  13. Lol, thanks for the laugh!

  14. Ya know, I drove without glasses for the better part of 15 years due to no money to buy any,does that make me a felon or just a misdemeanor criminal? I got new glasses this year but I swear between dust,sweat,and the baby mashing them into my face so the lenses are smudged,I saw BETTER without the darn things. I can’t remember the last time I was driving without them and swerved to avoid hitting a bead of sweat in my line of vision. Maybe I should try for the model with the built in lens wipers? I’ll have pristine vision AND look very cool, right? No? Oh,well.

    • I agree Morgue(where on earth did you get that name?)….I don’t think there is anything wrong with my driving….mind you…it might explain all the cars I have noticed sweving all over the place lately!!!

  15. You can borrow my magnifying glass. “cooked honey?” – bwahahahahahahahahaha!!!!

    • Thank you for the offer Grandawn but I will pass…don;t know how that will work with the computer!!!

      • I guess that would be a little tricky. Hmmmmm. . .

      • Any other great ideas?

  16. hey there, of course jasmine is not a corgi!

    • Hehehe….not in a million years…we do NOT discuss her lineage!

  17. […] Blind Granny June 2010 38 comments […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

